Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Preds Set Opening Night Roster

by Press Release / Nashville Predators
- Preds reassign Pihlstrom to Milwaukee -

Nashville, Tenn. (October 8, 2008) – Nashville Predators President of Hockey Operations/General
Related Items

2008 Training Camp Recap
Training Camp Central Main Page
2008-09 Regular Season Schedule

Manager David Poile announced today that the club has reassigned forward Antii Pihlstrom to Milwaukee of the American Hockey League, leaving a total of 16 forwards – including injured players Jed Ortmeyer, Steve Sullivan and Nick Tarnasky – seven defensemen and two goaltenders that will make up Nashville’s Opening Night roster.

Players by position are as follows:
Centers (7): Jason Arnott, Radek Bonk, David Legwand, Scott Nichol, Rich Peverley, Jerred Smithson and Nick Tarnasky.
Left Wings (4): Martin Erat, Vernon Fiddler, Ryan Jones and Steve Sullivan.
Right Wings (5): J.P. Dumont, Patric Hornqvist, Jed Ortmeyer, Jordin Tootoo and Joel Ward.
Defensemen (7): Greg de Vries, Dan Hamhuis, Kevin Klein, Ville Koistinen, Ryan Suter, Shea Weber and Greg Zanon.
Goaltenders: (2): Dan Ellis and Pekka Rinne.

The Predators kick off the 2008-09 regular season on Friday, Oct. 10 at St. Louis (7:30 p.m. CT), and will return home for their home opener the following night, Saturday, Oct. 11 vs. Dallas (7 p.m. CT). Tickets may be purchased online at, in addition to the Sommet Center box office, all Ticketmaster outlets, or by calling (615) 770-PUCK.

View More