Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Preds Renew ECHL Affiliation With Cincinnati Cyclones

by Press Release / Nashville Predators
- Predators’ secondary developmental affiliate since 2007 has won two of the last three Kelly Cup titles -

Nashville, Tenn. (August 10, 2010) – Nashville Predators President of Hockey Operations/General Manager David Poile announced today that the club has renewed its affiliation with the ECHL’s Cincinnati Cyclones. The Cyclones have served as Nashville’s secondary developmental affiliate since the 2007-08 season, winning a pair of Kelly Cup titles (2008 and 2010) in that span.

The Cyclones will function as a developmental affiliate for both Nashville, and its primary developmental affiliate, the Milwaukee Admirals of the American Hockey League. Cincinnati also maintains an affiliation agreement with Montreal and the Canadiens’ AHL affiliate, the Hamilton Bulldogs, and recently signed on an affiliation agreement with the Florida Panthers and their AHL team, the Rochester Americans. Cincinnati plays its home games at the 14,453-seat U.S. Bank Arena, located downtown next to Great American Ballpark.

“Partnering with a franchise that has a tradition of winning, in a city with a strong hockey history, will allow our players to develop as professionals in a successful environment,” Predators Assistant General Manager Paul Fenton said. “We are confident that those Cyclones who are called upon will contribute consistently to the success of the Milwaukee Admirals. The Predators are excited to continue our relationship with the Cyclones.”

Founded in 1990 as an ECHL franchise, the Cyclones competed in the International Hockey League (IHL) from 1992-2001. The Cyclones went 23-17-4 (.568 winning percentage) in games versus Milwaukee during that nine-year stretch. After the IHL ceased operations in 2001, the Cyclones returned to the ECHL for three more seasons.

After two seasons of inactivity – including one without professional hockey in Cincinnati – the Cyclones rejoined the ECHL in time for 2006-07. Chuck Weber was named head coach of the club in May 2006, and led them to two Kelly Cup championships (2008 and 2010), two North Division titles (2008 and 2009), a Brabham Cup (league’s best record) and three consecutive trips to the American Conference Finals (2008, 2009 and 2010). He was recently named coach of the Rochester Americans after posting a 177-92-19 record during four seasons with the Cyclones.

During Cincinnati’s run to the 2010 Kelly Cup, Predators 2007 second-round pick Jeremy Smith garnered co-playoff MVP honors, minding the Cyclones net in 17 of their 24 games, while Nashville free-agent signee Ian McKenzie skated in 15 postseason games.

The ECHL is the leading professional developmental league for the American Hockey League and the National Hockey League. The league began in 1988-89 with five teams in three states and has grown to be a coast-to-coast circuit that will see 19 teams playing in 14 states and British Columbia in 2010-11. There have been 443 former ECHL players who have gone on to play in the NHL after playing in the ECHL, including current Predators Francis Bouillon and Jerred Smithson.

View More