Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Historical Look at Pick No. 17 in the NHL Draft

by Thomas Willis / Nashville Predators

The Nashville Predators are set to pick in the first round of the 2016 NHL Draft on Friday night in Buffalo for the first time in two years.

This summer, Preds General Manager David Poile has voiced his excitement at the prospect of the high-quality players the Preds will have available to them at No. 17 overall, no matter if the club elects to go forward or defenseman. History supports the belief of Nashville’s GM, with one of the NHL’s current top scorers, Zach Parise, going at No. 17 in 2003, and current Preds d-man Barret Jackman four years before that.

Sharks forward Tomas Hertl (2012), Coyotes center Martin Hanzal (2005) and the Kings Trevor Lewis (2006) stick out as three other notable names taken at the position in recent memory. From a longer term view, NHL Hall-of-Famer Kevin Hatcher was selected in 1984, and three decades ago this summer, the Predators first captain in franchise history, Tom Fitzgerald, was selected by the New York Islanders.

Take a look at the notable NHL players taken at No. 17 in the past 35 years:

Year: Player: Drafted By:
2016 Dante Fabbro Nashville Predators
2015 Kyle Connor Winnipeg Jets
2014 Travis Sanheim Philadelphia Flyers
2013 Curtis Lazar Ottawa Senators
2012 Tomas Hertl San Jose Sharks
2011 Nathan Beaulieu Montreal Canadiens
2010 Joey Hishon Colorado Avalanche
2009 David Rundblad St. Louis Blues
2008 Jake Gardiner Anaheim Ducks
2007 Alexei Cherepanov New York Rangers
2006 Trevor Lewis Los Angeles Kings
2005 Martin Hanzal Arizona Coyotes
2004 Marek Schwarz St. Louis Blues
2003 Zach Parise New Jersey Devils
2002 Boyd Gordon Washington Capitals
2001 Carlo Colaiacovo Toronto Maple Leafs
2000 Alexei Mikhnov Edmonton Oilers
1999 Barret Jackman St. Louis Blues
1998 Martin Skoula Colorado Avalanche
1997 Robert Dome Pittsburgh Penguins
1996 Jaroslav Svejkovsky Washington Capitals
1995 Brad Church Washington Capitals
1994 Wayne Primeau Buffalo Sabres
1993 Jason Allison Washington Capitals
1992 Sergei Bautin Winnipeg Jets
1991 Brent Bilodeau Montreal Canadiens
1990 Scott Allison Edmonton Oilers
1989 Shayne Stevenson Boston Bruins
1988 Kory Kocur Detroit Red Wings
1987 Andrew Cassels Montreal Canadiens
1986 Tom Fitzgerald New York Islanders
1985 Chris Biotti Calgary Flames
1984 Kevin Hatcher Washington Capitals
1983 Alfie Turcotte Montreal Canadiens
1982 Murray Craven Detroit Red Wings
1981 Jiri Dudacek Buffalo Sabres


View More