Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Blake Geoffrion Named USA Hockey's College Player of the Year

by Staff Writer / Nashville Predators
From USA Hockey News Release

USA Hockey Announces 2010 Award Winners

USA Hockey will host its 2010 Annual Congress from Thursday, June 10, through Sunday, June 13, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colo. The four-day event provides USA Hockey's various councils, committees and affiliates the opportunity to conduct the organization's business and celebrate the year's accomplishments. In addition, two dinners will be staged to honor those who have contributed to the great success of USA Hockey.

USA Hockey will honor its service award recipients and players of the year on June 10 at an awards dinner tabbed "A Night of Tribute."

The award recipients include Adult Ironman of the Year Steve Peterson (Woodbury, Minn.), Bob Allen Women's Player of the Year Jenny Potter (Anoka, Minn.), Dave Tyler Junior Player of the Year Matt White (Whittier, Calif.), Dave Peterson Goalie of the Year Jack Campbell (Port Huron, Mich.), College Player of the Year Blake Geoffrion (Brentwood, Tenn.) and Disabled Athlete of the Year Steve Cash (Overland, Mo.).

The President's Awards Dinner will take place on June 12. Honorees will include Excellence in Safety Award recipient Dr. Mark R. Lovell (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Chet Stewart Award winner Lyman Dimond (Indian Land, S.C.), Bob Johnson Award honoree Ryan Miller (East Lansing, Mich.), Walter Yaciuk Award recipient Ron Baum (Grand Rapids, Mich.), Adult Member of the Year Ray Ferry (Lancaster, Pa.), Distinguished Achievement Award winner Brian Burke (Edina, Minn.) and Wm. Thayer Tutt Award recipient Wally Kormylo (Kenosha, Wis.).

In addition, Ron Wilson, head coach of the 2010 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team; Mark Johnson, head coach of the 2010 U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team; and Ray Maluta, head coach of the 2010 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team, will be in attendance at the President's Awards Dinner.

Blake Geoffrion
College Player of the Year, presented by Bauer Hockey

In 2009-10, Blake Geoffrion helped lead the University of Wisconsin Badgers to the NCAA title game, while capturing the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as the nation's top collegiate player. Geoffrion completed the season second in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association with 34 points in 25 league games, while ranking third in the overall scoring race with 28 goals in 40 games. The All-WCHA First Team selection led the nation with 15 power-play goals and was named the most valuable player at the NCAA West Regional. The RBK/American Hockey Coaches Association First Team All-American became the first-ever Badger to receive the Hobey Baker Memorial Award.

View More