Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Theissen, Jeffrey Named to AHL Eastern Conference All-Star Team

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins
WILKES-BARRE, Pa. – The Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins, in conjunction with the American Hockey League, announced today that goaltender Brad Thiessen and center Dustin Jeffrey will represent the Penguins on the Eastern Conference All-Star Team, which will take part in the 2011 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Capital Blue Cross on January 30-31 in Hershey, Pa.

For the third consecutive year and for the sixth time overall, the Penguins will have one of their own in the starting lineup.  Thiessen, who began the season on an eight-game winning streak and currently leads all goaltenders with 17 wins (17-3-0), follows Jeffrey (2010) and Chris Minard (2009) as starters.  The native of Aldergrove, British Columbia is also the 21st Penguins player to be named to an All-Star Team and just the second Penguins goaltender, joining Dany Sabourin (2006).

Jeffrey, in his third full season with Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, currently leads the team with 37 points (15+22) in 35 games played and ranks seventh overall in the AHL scoring race.  The native of Sarnia, Ontario becomes the sixth Penguins player to appear in a second All-Star Classic, joining John Slaney (2000 and 2001), Tomas Surovy (2003 and 2006), Michel Ouellet (2005 and 2006), Noah Welch (2006 and 2007) and Jeff Taffe (2008 and 2009).

Jeffrey is currently on recall to the Pittsburgh Penguins.

AHL fans determined the starting lineups via on-line balloting at, while a committee of AHL coaches selected the remainder of the rosters.  All 30 AHL teams are represented by at least one All-Star.

Penguins head coach John Hynes, who was named a co-coach of the Western Conference All-Star squad by virtue of the team having the highest winning percentage at the January 9 deadline, will coach against his two star players for the first time ever.  The native of Warwick, RI will join Peoria’s Jared Bednar, whose Rivermen had the Western Conference’s top winning percentage by the deadline, in coaching against his two stars for the first time ever. 

Hynes will be the third Penguins head coach to guide an All-Star Team, joining Joe Mullen (2006) and Todd Richards (2007).

2000    John Slaney
2001    Toby Petersen (S), John Slaney (S), Billy Tibbetts *, Andrew Ference, Greg Crozier
2002    Tom Kostopoulos, Shane Endicott*
2003    Ross Lupaschuk, Tomas Surovy, Milan Kraft*
2004    Matt Murley
2005    Michel Ouellet (S)
2006    Noah Welch, Dany Sabourin, Tomas Surovy*, Michel Ouellet*
2007    Jonathan Filewich, Noah Welch*
2008    Alex Goligoski, Jeff Taffe*
2009    Ben Lovejoy, Jeff Taffe, Chris Minard (S)
2010    Dustin Jeffrey (S)
2011    Brad Thiessen (S), Dustin Jeffrey

* = did not play due to injury/call up
S = Starter
View More