Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins


by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins

College Hockey East headed East to play its annual all-star game.

Traditionally held in the Pittsburgh-area, College Hockey East held its 7th Annual All-Star Game on Jan. 14 at the Cambria County War Memorial Arena in Johnstown.

“We were trying something different this year,” Associate commissioner Tom Harper said.


In addition to the main contest, College Hockey East’s all-star afternoon featured its first-ever skills competition featuring four events: fastest skater, puck control relay, rapid fire and breakaway competitions.

The day was a success for College Hockey East, which is comprised of 13 area collegiate club ice hockey programs. The South Division stars stormed past the North Division, 9-3. The South made it a clean sweep as it posted an 18-16 win in the skills competition.

“The whole day is a very cool thing for the players,” Harper said. “It’s a reward for them and what they’ve done.”

Divided into three divisions, College Hockey East is comprised of Penn State Behrend, Case Western Reserve, Allegheny and Edinboro in the North Division; IUP II, Penn State Altoona, Carnegie Mellon and Pitt II in the Central Division and Pitt-Johnstown, Saint Vincent, California and CCAC North in the South Division. Robert Morris University’s NCAA D-III team is a provisional member.

The players were divided between two teams for the all-star event. California’s Jamison Roth scored two goals and added two assists for the South stars en route to the contest’s MVP honors. Roth’s California teammate B.J. DePaoli added two goals and two assists as the South blew open a 5-3 game in the third period.

Edinboro teammates Nick Tucci and Greg Lelak lead the North with one goal each, while IUP’s Jason Ferrell had the team’s first score of the afternoon.

Saint Vincent’s Matt Ward and Pitt goalie Chris Watkinson helped guide the South to an 18-16 triumph in the CHE’s inaugural skills competition. Ward leads the CHE with 31 points through 11 games.

The victorious South Division all-star team featured: Matt Fiege (California), Mike Inman (Pitt-Johnstown), Chris Watkinson (Pitt), Ryan Capozoli (CCAC), Sam Crowe (Pitt), B.J. DePaoli (California), Thomas Drake (Saint Vincent), Dan Gilmour (Carnegie Mellon), Jason Layman (Pitt-Johnstown), Jordan Miller (Saint Vincent), Dave Moliterno (Pitt-Johnstown), D.J. Morgele (Pitt-Johnstown), Jeff Moyer (California), Joe Powell (California), Dave Reinhart (CCAC), Jamison Roth (California), Jeff Stine (Saint Vincent), Corey Tucik (CCAC), Matt Ward (Saint Vincent), Dave Wauthier (Pitt-Johnstown) and Dan Zabkar (Pitt-Johnstown).

The North Division team featured: Derik Gaworski (Robert Morris), Adam Schmidt (IUP), Rob Walls (Case Western), Eric Baluh (Penn State Behrend), D.J. Craven (Behrend), Matt Cummings (Allegheny), Jason Ferrell (IUP), Dustin Gaworski (Robert Morris), Matt Grabowski (Case Western), Jim Kreider (Robert Morris), Greg Lelak (Edinboro), Jim Lowe (Case Western), Dan Pawlowski (Case Western), Joe Persang (Penn State Behrend), Mike Richards (IUP), Dan Robinson (Allegheny), Jon Romanelli (Penn State Behrend), Mike Sliper (Edinboro), Erik Smith (Allegheny), Nick Tucci (Edinboro) and Clint Williamson (IUP).

College Hockey East begins the second half of its season with plenty of key contests to determine playoff berths and seeding. Defending champ Pitt-Johnstown is undefeated in league play with an 8-0 record and is on track to clinch the Kaleina Cup for best regular-season record. Penn State Behrend (North) and IUP (Central) sit atop their divisions with 7-1 records.

The CHE playoff tournament begins on Feb. 15 and runs through Feb. 26. All playoff games are held at the Valley Sports Complex in New Kensington.

For more information on College Hockey East, please visit the league website at



View More