Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Sidney Crosby Wins Ted Lindsay Award as ‘Most Outstanding Player’

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins
  Sidney Crosby

Penguins captain Sidney Crosby was rewarded for his dominant regular-season by winning the Ted Lindsay Award, which goes to the league’s ‘most outstanding player’ as voted by all of the NHL players.

Crosby won the Ted Lindsay Award for the second time in his career and the first time since 2006-07.

Crosby, who was running away with the NHL scoring title before suffering a broken jaw on March 30 that ended his regular season prematurely, becomes the second-straight Penguins player to win the Ted Lindsay Award following Evgeni Malkin last year.

Pittsburgh players have now won the Ted Lindsay Award nine times – most of any NHL team. Crosby joins Mario Lemieux (4 times) and Jaromir Jagr (twice) as the only Penguins to win the award multiple times.

Although Crosby, 25, missed the final 12 regular-season games, he still finished the season ranked third (tied) in scoring with 56 points (15G-41A). At the time of the injury, Crosby held a 10-point lead in the scoring race over Tampa Bay’s Steven Stamkos. It took 25 days before Tampa Bay’s Martin St. Louis finally passed him for good on April 24.

Crosby finished the regular season with a league-high 1.56 point-per-game average – the third-highest single-season total of the last 13 years behind only Lemieux’s 1.77 average in 2000-01 and the 1.61 points Crosby averaged in 2010-11.

Crosby, who was named the Penguins team MVP, finished the season ranked in the top-five in several NHL categories: assists (41; 2nd); plus-minus (plus-26; 4th); and even-strength points (39; t-4th). He was twice honored with monthly NHL awards – ‘First Star’ for March and ‘Second Star’ for February.

View More