Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Sidney Crosby Named Finalist for Ted Lindsay Award

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins
  Sidney Crosby

The National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) announced this morning that Penguins center Sidney Crosby is one of three finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award.

The Ted Lindsay Award is voted on by all NHL players and it goes to the player judged to be the ‘most outstanding player’ in the NHL.

The other finalists are Washington’s Alex Ovechkin and Tampa Bay’s Martin St. Louis – making all three finalists former Ted Lindsay winners.

Crosby, 25, is vying to win the second Ted Lindsay Award of his career. He won his first during the 2006-07 campaign.

Crosby had arguably the most dominant year of his career, finishing the season ranked third (tied) in scoring with 56 points (15G-41A), despite missing the final 12-plus games of the regular season due to a broken jaw suffered on his first shift March 30 against the New York Islanders.

At the time of the injury, Crosby held a 10-point lead in the scoring race over Tampa Bay’s Steven Stamkos. It took 25 days before St. Louis finally passed him for good on April 24.

Crosby finished the regular season with a league-high 1.56 point-per-game average – the third-highest single-season total of the last 13 years behind only Mario Lemieux’s 1.77 average in 2000-01 and the 1.61 points Crosby averaged in 2010-11.

Crosby, who was already named the Penguins team MVP, finished the season ranked in the top-five in several NHL categories: assists (41; 2nd); plus-minus (plus-26; 4th); and even-strength points (39; t-4th). He was twice honored with monthly NHL awards – ‘First Star’ for March and ‘Second Star’ for February.

Crosby would be the second-straight Penguins player to win the Ted Lindsay Award, following Evgeni Malkin last season. In total, the Penguins have won eight Lindsay Awards – Mario Lemieux (4 times); Jaromir Jagr (2); Crosby (1); Malkin (1) – most of any NHL team.

View More