Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Sidney Crosby Named a Finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins

Penguins captain Sidney Crosby, the reigning Ted Lindsay Award winner, was named a finalist for this year’s award, it was announced today by the National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA).

Watch: Sidney Crosby Highlights

The Ted Lindsay Award is presently annually by the NHLPA to the league’s ‘most outstanding player’ as voted by all of the NHL players.

Crosby is a two-time winner of the award, having also won in 2006-07 when the trophy was known as the Lester B. Pearson Award.

The Penguins are looking to win the award for the third consecutive season, as Evgeni Malkin preceded Crosby by winning in 2011-12.

Pittsburgh players have won the Ted Lindsay Award nine times – most of any NHL team. In addition to Crosby and Malkin, Mario Lemieux (4 times) and Jaromir Jagr (2) both won multiple Ted Lindsay Awards.

Crosby is looking to join a select list of players who have won three or more Ted Lindsay Awards: Wayne Gretzky (5); Lemieux (4); Jagr (3); Alex Ovechkin (3); and Guy Lafleur (3).

Sidney Crosby
Sidney Crosby
Center  - PIT
Goals: 36 | Assists: 68 | Pts: 104
Shots: 259 | +/-: 18
Crosby finished the regular season with 104 points, winning his second Art Ross Trophy. His 17-point victory in the scoring race over Anaheim’s Ryan Getzlaf represented the largest gap since Jaromir Jagr in 1998.

All NHL award winners will be announced at the league’s annual Awards Show, which will be held Wednesday, June 24 at 7 p.m. local time at the Encore Theater in Las Vegas. The awards will be broadcast live on NBC Sports Network.

View More