Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Shero Named NHL General Manager of the Year

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins

CHICAGO (June 14, 2013) -- Ray Shero of the Pittsburgh Penguins is the 2012-13 winner of the NHL General Manager of the Year Award. Voting for this award was conducted among the 30 Club General Managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the regular season.

Shero received 14 first-place votes among the 39 ballots cast, was named on 26 ballots and tallied 94 points to win a close three-way race over Bob Murray of the Anaheim Ducks (88) and Marc Bergevin of the Montreal Canadiens (75). Points are allocated on 5-3-1 basis for first through third place.

Shero made key additions to an already-strong roster throughout the year that helped propel the Penguins (36-12-0) to a playoff berth for the seventh consecutive season, their first Atlantic Division title since 2008 and the No. 1 seed in the Eastern Conference. He obtained C Brandon Sutter and G Tomas Vokoun in offseason trades and later brought RW Jarome Iginla, LW Brenden Morrow, C Jussi Jokinen and D Douglas Murray to Pittsburgh in deals leading up to the trade deadline. Pittsburgh reeled off 15 consecutive victories from March 2-30, the second-longest winning streak in NHL history and the League’s longest winning streak in 20 years.

2012-2013 NHL General Manager of the Year Award Voting


1.Ray Shero, PIT94(14-6-6)

2.Bob Murray, ANA88(11-9-6)

3.Marc Bergevin, MTL75(7-12-4)

4.Stan Bowman, CHI36(3-6-3)

5.Bryan Murray, OTT23(2-2-7)

6.Garth Snow, NYI8(0-1-5)

7.Dave Nonis, TOR6(0-2-0)

8.Ken Holland, DET5(1-0-0)

David Poile, NSH5(1-0-0)

10.George McPhee, WSH4(0-1-1)

11.Scott Howson, CBJ2(0-0-2)

12.Dean Lombardi, L.A.1(0-0-1)

Don Maloney, PHX1(0-0-1)

Glen Sather, NYR1(0-0-1)

Greg Sherman, COL1(0-0-1)

Doug Wilson, S.J.1(0-0-1)

View More