Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Shero, Malkin Headline Five Dapper Dan Nominations for Penguins

by Jason Seidling / Pittsburgh Penguins
It is time to select the winners of the 2009 Dapper Dan Sports Awards and the Pittsburgh Penguins need your vote. General Manager Ray Shero and forward Evgeni Malkin highlight five nominations received by the Penguins.

Shero and Malkin join University of Pittsburgh tailback Dion Lewis, Pittsburgh Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger and Pitt football head coach Dave Wannstedt as nominees for the prestigious Sportsman of the Year award.

Shero built the Penguins into Stanley Cup champions in 2009, the second-consecutive season they made it to the Final. Along the way he made the decision during mid-season to bring Dan Bylsma up from Wilkes-Barre/Scranton as head coach and acquired forwards Chris Kunitz, Bill Guerin and Craig Adams before the trading deadline.

Malkin finished off one of the best individual seasons in NHL history with 113 points (35G-78A) in the regular season to capture the Art Ross Trophy and then added 36 more points (14G-22A) in the playoffs to secure the Conn Smythe Trophy as postseason MVP.

If Shero or Malkin were to win Sportsman of the Year it would mark the third time in the past four years the Penguins took home the top honor. Captain Sidney Crosby became only the second back-to-back Sportsman of the Year in 2006 and ’07.

The Penguins also have two nominees in the Best Play category. Malkin’s backhand goal against the Carolina Hurricanes in Game 2 of the Eastern Conference Finals, since dubbed “The Geno,” is one of four challengers along with Marc-Andre Fleury’s Cup-clinching save on Nicklas Lidstrom in Game 7 of the Stanley Cup Final. James Harrison’s 100-yard interception return in Super Bowl XLIII and Santonio Holmes’ winning catch in the same game are the other nominees.

Owner Mario Lemieux’s handoff of the Stanley Cup to Crosby is one of four nominees in the Best Sports Moment category. Competition for this honor includes the Steelers’ record sixth Super Bowl title, the Pirates Andrew McCutchen hitting three home runs against the Washington Nationals and Duquesne basketball player Sam Ashaolu graduating after surviving a near-fatal shooting early in his career.

All winners will be honored at the 74th annual Dapper Dan Sports Banquet on March 25 at the Petersen Events Center. To vote for your favorite Penguins go to Voting ends at noon on Monday, Jan. 25 so get your vote in today!
View More