Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Pens Travel Blog From Sweden - Day 6

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins
Pens representatives will be providing an ongoing travel blog during the trip to Sweden and Finland for the Bridgestone Premeire. Check back for updates throughout the day, including photos and video. Click here for full Premiere coverage!


<< Go to Pens Travel Blog - Day 5

1:53pm EST, Friday Oct. 3rd (7:53pm CEST - Central European Summer Time)
The announcement that Janne Pesonen was the Penguins' final cut Friday means that Fox Chapel's Bill Thomas made the team - becoming only the second Pittsburgh trained player to make the Penguins' regular season roster (Ryan Malone). It also means that winger Paul Bissonnette succeeded in his unlikely quest to make the team. Bissonnette played in both Wheeling (ECHL) and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton last year.

11:25am EST, Friday Oct. 3rd (5:25pm CEST - Central European Summer Time)
Coach Michel Therrien said he does not expect Petr Sykora to play in Saturday's regular season opener against Ottawa at Globe Arena. Sykora is listed as day-to-day with a sore groin. He did not practice Friday. Evgeni Malkin and Brooks Orpik will both wear the "A"  as alternate captains in October. Therrien plans to rotate the alternate captaincy on a monthly basis to "extend our leadership group among our younger players." Sidney Crosby enters his second season wearing the "C" as the team captain. Sergei Gonchar was slated to be an alternate captain but will miss 4-6 months after undergoing shoulder surgery Thursday. The Penguins will be the road team in Saturday's opener and will wear white. They will be the home team on Sunday and wear black.

10:05am EST, Friday Oct. 3rd (4:05pm CEST - Central European Summer Time)
Max Talbot returned to the ice for practice Friday at Globe Arena after missing Wednesday's workout and Thursday's pre-season game with a sore leg. The Penguins and Ottawa Senators are practicing back-to-back at Globe - meaning that Jarkko Ruuttu was one of the interested observers at Penguins practice.

 The Penguins will make a final roster move after practice to get down to a 24-man roster for Saturday's opener against the Senators.

 The media crush today is enormous. A small group of Penguins fans who traveled to Sweden for the games also attended practice.

 




Discuss this on the Pens Message Boards!





View More