Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Pens Travel Blog From Sweden - Day 3

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins
Pens representatives will be providing an ongoing travel blog during the trip to Sweden and Finland for the Bridgestone Premeire. Check back for updates throughout the day, including photos and video. Click here for full Premiere coverage!


<< Day 2  |  Day 4 >>

2:33pm EST, Tuesday Sept. 30th (8:33pm CEST - Central European Summer Time)
The Penguins' Stockholm "scavenger hunt" was won by Team Roxette, led by captain Matt Cooke. The other winning team members were Jordan Staal, Brooks Orpik and Jeff Taffe. Their prize? A copy of Abba's Greatest Hits, presented at a team dinner Tuesday night. Six teams of four players each competed to locate, identify and photograph six landmarks throughout Stockholm. Cooke's team completed the task in the shortest time. Stockholm residents may never forget the site of various Penguins players dashing through Stockholm wearing small Viking helmets.

The players participated in a Scavenger Hunt
View photos
1:30pm EST, Tuesday Sept. 30th (7:30pm CEST - Central European Summer Time)
While Penguins players gathered for a dinner following their "scavenger hunt' competition through Stockholm Tuesday, members of team management attended a Swedish Elite League game between Djurgarden and Skelleftea at Hovet Arena. The Penguins skated at Hovet during their first two days in Sweden. General Manager Ray Shero and assistant GM Chuck Fletcher were especially interested in seeing 17-year-old forward Jacub Josefson of Djurgarden, rated as a first-round pick in the 2009 NHL Entry Draft. Scouts say there could be five first-rounders from Sweden this year. On Monday, Shero and Fletcher saw defenseman Victor Hedman, who is a candidate to go no. 1 overall in the 2009 draft. Some Penguins players plan to go to Hovet Wednesday night to watch former teammate Dick Tarnstrom play for AIK.

8:54am EST, Tuesday Sept. 30th (2:54pm CEST - Central European Summer Time)
The Penguins had a day off from practice Tuesday, but took part in a team-building event in the afternoon. Six teams of four Penguins players each embarked on a "scavenger hunt" at 2 pm Stockholm time. The  competition challenges the players to locate various landmarks throughout Stockholm and take photos. They had to navigate the city on foot or by cab, bus or boat.  The team that completes the task in the shortest amount of time will be the winner. The names of the teams (with their team captains) are: H+M (Darryl Sydor), Nobel (Ruslan Fedotenko), Roxette (Matt Cooke), Bjorn Borg (Sidney Crosby), Volvo (Hal Gill) and IKEA (Mark Eaton).

Discuss this on the Pens Message Boards!





View More