Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Penguins Players Honored at Annual Team Awards Pre-Game Ceremony

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins
The Pittsburgh Penguins held their annual team awards ceremony before Sunday’s game vs. the Florida Panthers.  Here are the winners, and descriptions of each award:

Baz Bastien Memorial “Good Guy” Award – Mike Rupp
Presented by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association to the player who the local media of the PHWA want to acknowledge for his cooperation throughout the year.  The award is presented in memory of the late Aldege “Baz” Bastien, Penguins general manager from 1976-83.  Sponsored by UPMC. 

NHL Masterton Nominee - Deryk Engelland
The Pittsburgh Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association votes for the Penguins’ Masterton nominee.  Each NHL team selects a Masterton candidate from which the overall winner is chosen. The Masterton candidate is nominated as the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.  Sponsored by Trib Total Media.

A.T. Caggiano Memorial Booster Club Cup – Marc-Andre Fleury
Presented in memory of A.T. Caggiano, long-time Penguins’ locker room attendant & Booster Club supporter, the award is presented by Penguins Booster Club members, who vote for the three stars after every home game and tally votes at the end of the regular season.

Rookie of the Year Award – Mark Letestu
Presented in memory of former Penguins forward Michel Briere to the player who makes a substantial contribution during his rookie season.  Sponsored by Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield.

Players’ Player Award – Brooks Orpik
The players hold a vote at the end of the season for the player they feel exemplifies leadership for the team, both on and off the ice, a player dedicated to teamwork.  Sponsored by the Pittsburgh Penguins Foundation.

Edward J. DeBartolo “Community Service” Award – Max Talbot & Mike Rupp
The award recognizes the player who has donated a tremendous amount of time and effort during the season working on community and charity projects.  Sponsored by Verizon.

Defensive Player of the Year – Brooks Orpik
This award honors the defensive skills of an individual player on the team.  Sponsored by PNC Wealth Management.

Most Valuable Player Award – Marc-Andre Fleury
Based on the overall contribution the player makes to the team.  Sponsored by CONSOL Energy Inc.

View More