Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins


by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins

The Pittsburgh Penguins annual team awards ceremony will take place at center ice prior to the Penguins Vs. NY Islanders game tonight at 7:30 pm.  A description of each award follows:

NHL Masterton Nominee “Comeback Player” Award – John LeClair
The Pittsburgh Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association votes for the Penguins’ Masterton nominee.  Each NHL team selects a Masterton candidate from which the overall winner is chosen. The Masterton candidate is nominated as the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.  Sponsored by Dick’s Sporting Goods. 

Edward J. DeBartolo “Community Service” Award – Ryan Malone, Marc-Andre Fleury, Colby Armstrong, Ryan
WhitneyThe award recognizes the player who has donated a tremendous amount of time during the season working on community and charity projects.  Sponsored by Verizon Wireless.

Baz Bastien Memorial “Good Guy” Award – Sidney Crosby
Presented by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association to the player who the local media of the PHWA want to acknowledge for his cooperation throughout the year.  The award is presented in memory of the late Aldege “Baz” Bastien, Penguins general manager from 1976-83.  Sponsored by UPMC.

A.T. Caggiano Memorial Booster Club Cup – Sidney Crosby
Presented in memory of A.T. Caggiano, long-time Penguins’ locker room attendant & Booster Club supporter, the award is presented by Penguins Booster Club members, who vote for the three stars after every home game and tally votes at the end of the regular season.

Player’s Player Award – John LeClair
The players hold a vote at the end of the season for the player they feel exemplifies leadership for the team, both on and off the ice, a player dedicated to teamwork.  Sponsored by the Local Pittsburgh Dodge Dealers.

Rookie of the Year Award – Sidney Crosby
Presented in memory of former Penguins forward Michel Briere to the player who makes a substantial contribution during his rookie season.  Sponsored by 84 Lumber.

Most Valuable Player Award – Sidney Crosby
Based on the overall contribution the player makes to the team.  Sponsored by Mellon.

View More