Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Penguins Own 23rd Pick in the 2011 NHL Entry Draft

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins
The Pittsburgh Penguins enter the 2011 NHL Entry Draft with five selections, including the 23rd-overall pick in the first round. The 2011 draft will be held Friday, June 24 (Round 1) and Saturday, June 25 (Rounds 2-7) at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, MN.

Round 1 will begin at 7:00 p.m. ET on Friday and will be nationally televised by VERSUS. The NHL Network will carry Rounds 2-7 on Saturday, with coverage beginning at 11 a.m. ET.

Along with their first-round pick, the Penguins have picks in the second round (54th overall), fifth round (144th), sixth round (174th) and seventh round (209th).

Pittsburgh acquired its seventh-round selection from the San Jose Sharks at last year’s draft in exchange for the Penguins’ 2010 seventh-round pick.

The Penguins previously traded three 2011 draft picks when they sent their third-round pick to Philadelphia at last year’s draft in exchange for the rights to defenseman Dan Hamhuis; they dealt their fourth-round pick to Edmonton in January, 2009 as part of a package that netted goaltender Mathieu Garon; and they traded their seventh-round selection to Ottawa on Feb. 24 of this past season to re-acquire forward Alex Kovalev.

The Penguins’ postseason roster featured 10 players that were originally drafted by Pittsburgh, including five that were taken in the first round.

Joining first-round selections Brooks Orpik (2000, 18th overall), Marc-Andre Fleury (2003, 1st), Evgeni Malkin (2004, 2nd), Sidney Crosby (2005, 1st) and Jordan Staal (2006, 2nd) were Max Talbot (2002, 234th), Tyler Kennedy (2004, 99th), Kris Letang (2005, 62nd), Dustin Jeffrey (2007, 171st) and Nick Johnson (2004, 67th).

Three other Penguins’ draft picks spent time at the NHL level this season: Joe Vitale (2005, 195th); Brian Strait (2006, 65th); and the since-traded Alex Goligoski (2004, 61st).

Here is a look at the Penguins' last 10 first-round picks:

Year Name Pos. Selection
2010 Beau Bennett RW 20
2009 Simon Despres D 30
2008 (Traded to Atlanta) -- --
2007 Angelo Esposito C 20
2006 Jordan Staal C 2
2005 Sidney Crosby C 1
2004 Evgeni Malkin C 2
2003 Marc-Andre Fleury G 1
2002 Ryan Whitney D 5
2001 Colby Armstrong RW 21
View More