Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins


by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins

(PHOTO GALLERY: Fan Appreciation Night)

The Pittsburgh Penguins annual team awards ceremony took place at center ice prior to the Penguins’ game Saturday night.

In addition, the Penguins gave their jerseys to lucky fans at Fan Appreciation Night.

Here are the team award winners:

NHL Masterton Nominee “Comeback Player” Award – Alain Nasreddine

The Pittsburgh Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association votes for the Penguins’ Masterton nominee.  Each NHL team selects a Masterton candidate from which the overall winner is chosen. The Masterton candidate is nominated as the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Edward J. DeBartolo “Community Service” Award – Mark Recchi

The award recognizes the player who has donated a tremendous amount of time and effort during the season working on community and charity projects.

Baz Bastien Memorial “Good Guy” Award – The Pittsburgh Penguins Team

Presented by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association to the player who the local media of the PHWA want to acknowledge for his cooperation throughout the year.  The award is presented in memory of the late Aldege “Baz” Bastien, Penguins general manager from 1976-83.  Note: For the first time ever, the entire team has been honored for their outstanding cooperation throughout the 2006-07 season.

A.T. Caggiano Memorial Booster Club Cup – Sidney Crosby

Presented in memory of A.T. Caggiano, long-time Penguins’ locker room attendant & Booster Club supporter, the award is presented by Penguins Booster Club members, who vote for the three stars after every home game and tally votes at the end of the regular season.

Player’s Player Award – Mark Recchi

The players hold a vote at the end of the season for the player they feel exemplifies leadership for the team, both on and off the ice, a player dedicated to teamwork.

Rookie of the Year Award – Evgeni Malkin & Jordan Staal

Presented in memory of former Penguins forward Michel Briere to the player who makes a substantial contribution during his rookie season. 

Most Valuable Player Award – Sidney Crosby

Based on the overall contribution the player makes to the team.




View More