Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Penguins Crosby Wins Fourth Straight ESPY Award

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins
Penguins captain Sidney Crosby won his fourth straight ESPY Award as the Best National Hockey League Player Wednesday night.

Winners are determined by online fan voting, which was conducted at

Crosby has now won more ESPYs than any other NHL player since the awards were created in 1993. He broke a tie with current Penguins owner Mario Lemieux, who won the ESPY three times (1993, 1994 and 1998).

In addition to Crosby’s individual honor, the United States-Canada Gold Medal Game at the 2010 Winter Olympics won the ESPY Award for Best Game. Canada defeated the Americans, 3-2 in overtime, on a game-winning goal by Crosby 7:40 into the extra session to capture the gold medal on home ice.

View More