Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Penguins Captain Sidney Crosby Collects Hart Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award and Art Ross Trophy at the NHL Awards

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins

Penguins captain Sidney Crosby was the star of the 2014 NHL Awards, winning the Hart Memorial Trophy as the NHL’s most valuable player and the Ted Lindsay Award, which goes to the league’s most outstanding player as voted by all of the NHL players.

Crosby also collected the Art Ross Trophy, which he won after leading the NHL with 104 points during the 2013-14 regular season, and he was voted a NHL First-Team All-Star.

This marked the second time that Crosby has won the Hart Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award and Art Ross Trophy in the same season. He also did so in 2006-07, when the Ted Lindsay Award was known as the Lester B. Pearson Award.

Crosby is one of just nine players in NHL history to capture the Hart Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award and the Art Ross Trophy in the same season. The others are Mario Lemieux, Evgeni Malkin, Jaromir Jagr, Wayne Gretzky, Phil Esposito, Guy Lafleur, Martin St. Louis and Alex Ovechkin. Four of the nine – Crosby, Malkin, Lemieux and Jagr – did so while playing for Pittsburgh.

By winning his second career Hart Trophy, Crosby joined Lemieux as the only players in franchise history to win the award multiple times. Lemieux was a three-time winner.

Thanks to Crosby’s second-straight win, Pittsburgh players have won the Ted Lindsay Award 10 times – most of any NHL team. Lemieux leads the way with four, followed by Crosby with three, Jagr with two and Malkin one.

Penguins’ players have won the Ted Lindsay Award three straight years, as Malkin preceded Crosby’s back-to-back titles by winning in ’11-12.

Crosby also joined a select list of players who have won three or more Ted Lindsay Awards: Gretzky (5); Lemieux (4); Jagr (3); Ovechkin (3); and Lafleur (3).

Crosby’s 17-point victory in the scoring race over Anaheim’s Ryan Getzlaf gave the Penguins the franchise’s 15th Art Ross Trophy in the past 26 seasons – the highest total among all NHL teams.

During the last eight years, the Penguins have now had the NHL First-Team All-Star center six times, with Crosby earning the nod the past two years and in ’06-07, and Malkin claiming top honors in ’07-08, ’08-09 and ’11-12.

View More