Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Malkin Named Finalist for Ted Lindsay Award as NHL’s “Outstanding Player”

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins

The National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) announced this afternoon that Penguins center Evgeni Malkin is one of three finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award as the ‘most outstanding player’ in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.
The other finalists are Tampa Bay Lightning forward Steven Stamkos and New York Rangers goaltender Henrik Lundqvist.
The winner will be announced at the NHL Awards Show, which will be held on Wednesday, June 20 at the Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas. The 2012 NHL Awards will be broadcast nationally in the United States on NBC Sports Network.
Last week, Malkin, 25, was named a finalist for the Hart Trophy, which is presented by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (WHWA) to the player judged to be the most valuable player to his team.
Malkin, who won his second Art Ross Trophy this season as NHL scoring champion with 109 points (50G-59A), is attempting to become the first Penguin to win the Ted Lindsay Award since Sidney Crosby in 2007 (when the award was known as the Lester B. Pearson Award). Other Penguins to win the Lindsay/Pearson Award include Mario Lemieux (4 times) and Jaromir Jagr (2 times).
In winning his second Art Ross Trophy by 12 points over Stamkos, Malkin became the third player in franchise history to win multiple scoring titles (Lemieux, 6; Jagr, 5). Malkin won the scoring title despite missing seven games due to injury in October. He averaged a league-best 1.45 points per game (min. 41 games) and he also led all NHL players with 339 shots.
View More