Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Evgeni Malkin is a Finalist for the Hart Memorial Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award at the NHL Awards Show on Wednesday

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins

Penguins forward Evgeni Malkin is a finalist for a pair of awards at the 2012 NHL Awards Show, which will be nationally televised Wednesday at 7 p.m. on NBC Sports Network.

Malkin, 25, is a finalist for the Hart Memorial Trophy, which is awarded by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA) “to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team.” He also is a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award, which is presented to the “most outstanding player” in the league as voted on by the National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA).

Tampa Bay Lightning forward Steven Stamkos and New York Rangers goaltender Henrik Lundqvist are finalists alongside Malkin for both the Hart Trophy and Lindsay Award.

Malkin would join an illustrious list should he add both the Hart Trophy and Lindsay Award to his already-clinched Art Ross Trophy as NHL scoring champion. Only eight players have won all three trophies in the same season: Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Sidney Crosby, Jaromir Jagr, Phil Esposito, Guy Lafleur, Martin St. Louis and Alex Ovechkin.

Malkin will also receive his second career Art Ross Trophy after leading the NHL with 109 points (50G-59A) in 75 regular-season games this season. He won his first scoring title during the Penguins’ most-recent Stanley Cup championship season in 2008-09.

This marks the third time that Malkin is one of the three finalists for the Hart Trophy after previously finishing as runner-up to Ovechkin in back-to-back years in ’07-08 and ’08-09.

Malkin, who led all NHL players (min. 41 games) with a 1.45 point-per-game average, is also looking to earn his first Lindsay Award.

Should Malkin win the Hart Trophy, he would become the fourth player in franchise history to do so, joining Lemieux (3 times), Crosby (1) and Jagr (1).

Malkin is attempting to join those same three players in capturing the Lindsay Award. Pittsburgh has won the Lindsay Award more often than any other NHL team, with Lemieux (4 times), Jagr (2) and Crosby (1) combining to win seven times, which is one more than the Edmonton Oilers franchise (6).

This year’s NHL Awards Show will be held at the Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas. Nickelback, known around the world for their powerful and spectacular live shows, headlines the 2012 NHL Awards with two live performances.

View More