Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Crosby, Malkin, Staal, Therrien Up For NHL Awards Thursday Night

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins
Sidney Crosby, Evgeni Malkin, Jordan Staal and Michel Therrien of the Pittsburgh Penguins will be among the finalists for prestigious individual awards at the National Hockey League’s annual Awards Show Thursday night at the Elgin Theatre in Toronto.

Television coverage on Versus begins at 7 p.m.

Crosby is one of three finalists for the Hart Trophy as Most Valuable Player (voted by the media) and for the Lester B. Pearson Award as “most outstanding player” (voted by the NHL Players Association).

Other finalists for the Hart Trophy are Martin Brodeur of New Jersey and Roberto Luongo of Vancouver. Other finalists for the Pearson Award are Luongo and Vincent Lecavalier of Tampa Bay.

Malkin and Staal are finalists for the Calder Trophy as rookie of the year, along with Paul Stastny of Colorado.

Therrien is a finalist for the Jack Adams Award as outstanding coach, along with Lindy Ruff of Buffalo and Alain Vigneault of Vancouver.

In addition, the NHL will present the Selke Trophy (best defensive forward), Norris Trophy (best defenseman), Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct) and Vezina Trophy (outstanding goaltender) on Thursday night.
View More