Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Crosby, Dupuis, Rutherford All Finalists at the 2016 NHL Awards Show to be Held on Wednesday Night in Las Vegas

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins

The 2016 NHL Awards Show will be held this Wednesday, June 22 at 7 p.m. at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas. The show will be nationally broadcast on NBC Sports Network.

Three members of the Penguins organization are award finalists. Captain Sidney Crosby is a finalist for the Hart Trophy; forward Pascal Dupuis is up for the Masterton Trophy; and GM Jim Rutherford is a finalist for the General Manager of the Year Award.

Crosby, Dupuis, Rutherford and other members of the Penguins organization will also have the Stanley Cup and Wales Conference Trophy at the NHL season-ending celebration. Crosby will have the Conn Smythe Trophy, which he earned as the MVP of the 2016 Stanley Cup playoffs.

Actor Will Arnett will be the host of this year’s event.

Crosby is hoping to win his third Hart Trophy, which would make him just the ninth player in NHL history with three or more such titles. Penguins Hall of Fame owner Mario Lemieux is one of the eight.

If Crosby wins the Hart Trophy, he will join Bobby Orr (twice), Guy Lafleur and Wayne Gretzky as the only players to win both the regular season and playoff MVP awards in the same year.

Dupuis, a two-time Stanley Cup champion who had to step away from the game in December, would be the third Penguins player to win the Masterton Trophy, joining Lemieux (1993) and Lowell MacDonald (1973).

The architect of Pittsburgh’s fourth Stanley Cup championship, Rutherford has previously been named The Hockey News ‘Executive of the Year’ in 2002 and ’06, and The Sporting News ‘Executive of the Year’ in ’06.

Last week, Rutherford became the first GM in the post-1967 NHL Expansion Era to manage multiple teams to Stanley Cups, having also won with Carolina in 2006.

View More