Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins


by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins

David Brown and Bobby Goepfert are senior goaltenders and Penguins draft picks.

But they have more than that in common. Both are among the final 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, honoring college hockey’s best player.

Notre Dame’s Brown became the program’s first player selected as the CCHA Player of the Year this season. Brown leads the nation in goals-against-average, posting a 1.64 average in 35 games and tied for sixth nationally in save percentage with a .928 mark. He helped guide the No. 1 Fighting Irish to its first-ever CCHA regular-season crown. He is second in the country in winning percentage (.814) with a 27-5-3 record.

St. Cloud State’s Goepfert helped guide the Huskies to a second-place finish in the WCHA, the school’s highest standing in league play. A WCHA First Team member for the second straight year, Goepfert posted the league’s best save percentage and second-best goals against average. His 2.08 GAA is a team record and ranks seventh in the country. He ranks fourth in the country in save percentage (.932) and 11th in winning percentage (.661) with a 17-7-7 record.

The Penguins selected Brown in the eighth round of the 2004 NHL Entry Draft, while Goepfert joined the organization as a sixth-round choice in the 2002 NHL Entry Draft.

All 59 NCAA Division I college hockey head coaches and fan balloting on voted on the 10 finalists. The second and final phase of voting will involve the 25-member Selection Committee and an additional round of fan balloting at to determine this year’s Hobey Baker winner. Criteria for the award includes: strength of character on and off the ice, displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists will be announced on March 28 with the Hobey Baker Award winner announced April 6 from Scottrade Center in St. Louis, during the NCAA Frozen Four tournament.  The announcement is airing live on ESPNU at 7 p.m.



View More