Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

AHL Announces New Division Alignment for 2010-11 Season

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins
The American Hockey League has released its new division alignment for the 2010-11 season, it was announced today by league President/CEO David Andrews.

The Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins will once again take up residence in the East Division of the Eastern Conference, but the upcoming season will feature a few changes which will impact the division.  The Charlotte Checkers will become the primary affiliate of the Carolina Hurricanes, and will play in the East Division.  Also, the Albany Devils have become the new affiliate of the New Jersey Devils.  With the departure of the Atlantic Division’s Lowell Devils, the East Division will now be comprised of eight teams, while the Atlantic Division will have seven.

The Western Conference welcomes the Oklahoma City Barons, affiliate of the Edmonton Oilers, to the West Division for next season, bringing the number of occupants to eight.  The North Division is the only division without change.

All 30 NHL teams will now have their own primary affiliates playing as the American Hockey League enters its 75th anniversary season.  The league’s Board of Governors has approved the following conference and division alignment for 2010-11, with NHL affiliates in parentheses:

                                       Atlantic Division                                   East Division 
                             Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI)           Adirondack Phantoms (PHI)
                             Hartford Wolf Pack (NYR)                    Albany Devils (NJ)
                             Manchester Monarchs (LA)                 Binghamton Senators (OTT)
                             Portland Pirates (BUF)                        Charlotte Checkers (CAR)
                             Providence Bruins (BOS)                    Hershey Bears (WSH)
                             Springfield Falcons (CBJ)                   Norfolk Admirals (TB)
                             Worcester Sharks (SJ)                        Syracuse Crunch (ANA)
                                                                                              Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (PIT)

                                   North Division                                         West Division
                           Abbotsford Heat (CGY)                         Chicago Wolves (ATL)
                           Grand Rapids Griffins (DET)               Houston Aeros (MIN)
                           Hamilton Bulldogs (MTL)                     Milwaukee Admirals (NSH)
                           Lake Erie Monsters (COL)                   Oklahoma City Barons (EDM)
                           Manitoba Moose (VAN)                         Peoria Rivermen (STL)
                           Rochester Americans (FLA)                Rockford IceHogs (CHI)
                           Toronto Marlies (TOR)                          San Antonio Rampage (PHX)
                                                                                             Texas Stars (DAL)
View More