Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Florida Panthers

Panthers News

Panthers Sign G Jose Theodore

by Staff Writer / Florida Panthers
In order to view this page you need JavaScript and Flash Player 9+ support!
SUNRISE, FLA – Florida Panthers Executive Vice President & General Manager Dale Tallon announced today that the club has agreed to terms with G Jose Theodore (joh-SAY, THEE-uh-dohr) on a two-year contract.

Theodore joins D Brian Campbell, F Tomas Kopecky and F Scottie Upshall as new Panthers signings over the last week.
“Jose is a veteran goalie who has won both the Vezina and Hart Trophy,” said Tallon. “He has played in more than 500 games in the National Hockey League, earning more than 250 wins, and adds depth and experience to our team. Paired with Scott Clemmensen, we feel that we have a solid goaltending tandem for the 2011-12 season.”
Theodore, 34, ranks sixth among active National Hockey League goalies in games played (580) and eighth in wins (260). The Laval, Quebec native earned a Vezina and Hart Trophy during the 2001-02 season while playing with the Montreal Canadiens, posting a 30-24-10 mark with a 2.11 GAA and a .931 save percentage.
For his career in the NHL, Theodore has played in 580 games with Montreal (1995-2006), Colorado (2006-08), Washington (2008-10) and Minnesota (2010-11) going 260-232-55 with a 2.69 GAA and a .909 save percentage. He has appeared in 51 post season contests with a 19-28 mark and a 2.82 GAA.
Throughout his 14-year playing career, Theodore has recorded four 30-plus win seasons, including back-to-back 30-plus win seasons with Washington (2008-10). He was originally drafted by Montreal in the second round (44th overall) in the 1994 NHL Entry Draft.
The Florida Panthers Offseason is presented by JetBlue. Sunrise Sports & Entertainment is the premier company of its kind in South Florida. Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube. Home to more than 200 events annually and the Florida Panthers Hockey Club, the BankAtlantic Center was a finalist for Arena of the Year in annual awards given by trade publication Pollstar.
View More