Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Florida Panthers

Panthers News

Panthers’ Jagr Awarded Bill Masterton Trophy

by Staff Writer / Florida Panthers

Florida Panthers right wing Jaromir Jagr is the 2015-16 recipient of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL player who “best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.” The award was presented by the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA) to honor the late Bill Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars who exhibited those qualities. Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968, as a result of an on-ice injury.

Jagr was selected as the Panthers’ Masterton Trophy nominee in a season that saw the 44-year-old inspire his team to franchise records for wins (47) and points (103) while capturing their second division title. Playing in his 22nd NHL season, Jagr led the Panthers in scoring with 27-39--66, becoming the oldest player in League history to surpass the 60-point plateau. His work ethic and off-ice mentorship, particularly with linemates Aleksander Barkov and Jonathan Huberdeau, whose combined age is younger than Jagr, was considered as valuable as his on-ice production.

A $2,500 grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, Minnesota, in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner.

Other finalists for this year’s honor were Pascal Dupuis of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Mats Zuccarello of the New York Rangers.

Masterton Trophy Winners Since 1990

Year Winner Team

2016 Jaromir Jagr Florida

2015 Devan Dubnyk Minnesota

2014 Dominic Moore NY Rangers

2013 Josh Harding Minnesota

2012 Max Pacioretty Montreal

2011 Ian Laperriere Philadelphia

2010 Jose Theodore Washington

2009 Steve Sullivan Nashville

2008 Jason Blake Toronto

2007 Phil Kessel Boston

2006 Teemu Selanne Anaheim

2004 Bryan Berard Chicago

2003 Steve Yzerman Detroit

2002 Saku Koivu Montreal

2001 Adam Graves NY Rangers

2000 Ken Daneyko New Jersey

1999 John Cullen Tampa Bay

1998 Jamie McLennan St. Louis

1997 Tony Granato San Jose

1996 Gary Roberts Calgary

1995 Pat LaFontaine Buffalo

1994 Cam Neely Boston

1993 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh

1992 Mark Fitzpatrick NY Islanders

1991 Dave Taylor Los Angeles

1990 Gord Kluzak Boston

View More