Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Florida Panthers

Panthers News

Former Florida Panthers Ed Belfour & Joe Nieuwendyk To Be Inducted Into Hockey Hall Of Fame

by Staff Writer / Florida Panthers
SUNRISE, Fla. – Bill Hay, Chairman and CEO of the Hockey Hall of Fame, Jim Gregory and Pat Quinn, Co-Chairmen of the Hockey Hall of Fame's Selection Committee, announced today that former Florida Panthers G Ed Belfour and C Joe Nieuwendyk have been selected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in the Player Category.

“The entire Florida Panthers organization would like to congratulate both Ed and Joe on this tremendous achievement,” said Panthers Alternate Governor & Hockey Hall of Fame member William A. Torrey. “They both have made significant contributions to the game of hockey and they are most deserving of this special honor.”
Belfour, a native of Carmen, Manitoba, played on five NHL teams from the 1988 to 2007 seasons, winning the Stanley cup in 1999 as a member of the Dallas Stars. A two-time Vezina Trophy winner, he also won a gold medal at the 2002 Winter Olympic Games.
Belfour, 46, appeared in 58 games with Florida (2006-07) going 27-17-10 with one shutout, a 2.77 GAA and a .902 save percentage. He recorded his 76th career NHL shutout as a member of the Panthers on Feb. 13, 2007 at Montreal. Additionally, he holds the Panthers all-time record for consecutive games played, appearing in 27 contests from Jan. 20-Mar. 27. He signed with Florida on July 25, 2006 as an unrestricted free agent.
Nieuwendyk played three seasons at Cornell University before turning professional with the Calgary Flames, winning Rookie of the Year honors in 1988.  Nieuwendyk went on to win the Stanley Cup with Calgary the following season and twice more - with Dallas in 1999 and New Jersey in 2003.
Nieuwendyk, 44, played in 80 games with Florida (2005-07) scoring 31 goals with 33 assists and 50 PIM. He recorded his 1,100th career point Mar. 20, 2006 vs. Tampa Bay and skated in his 1,200th National Hockey League game Dec. 30, 2005 vs. Montreal. He signed with Florida on Aug. 1, 2005 as an unrestricted free agent. After retiring with the Panthers on Dec. 6, 2006, he spent the 2007-08 season serving as Florida’s special assistant to the GM.
Nieuwendyk and Belfour will be inducted into the 2011 class along with Doug Gilmour and Mark Howe. The 2011 Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 14th at the Hockey  Hall  of Fame in Toronto.   For more information regarding the 2011 Induction Weekend/Celebration, visit <> .
Established in  1943,  the  Hockey  Hall  of Fame’s (“HHOF”) mandate is to recognize  and  honour  the achievements of players, builders and officials who  bring special  distinction  to  the  game  of hockey, and to collect, preserve,  research  and  exhibit  objects, images  and resource materials connected with the game as it is played in Canada and throughout the world. As  a  non-profit corporation and a registered charity under the Income Tax Act,  HHOF  owns  and operates a museum and place of entertainment offeringstate-of-the-art   exhibits,  multimedia   presentations  and  educational programming from its premises at Brookfield Place, Toronto, Canada.
The Florida Panthers Offseason is presented by JetBlue. Sunrise Sports & Entertainment is the premier company of its kind in South Florida. Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube. Home to more than 200 events annually and the Florida Panthers Hockey Club, the BankAtlantic Center was a finalist for Arena of the Year in annual awards given by trade publication Pollstar.
View More