Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Florida Panthers

Panthers News

Florida Panthers G Prospect Marc Cheverie Nominated for 2010 Hobey Baker Award

by Staff Writer / Florida Panthers
Goaltender Marc Cheverie

SUNRISE, FL – Florida Panthers goaltending prospect Marc Cheverie has been selected as one of the top ten candidates for the 2010 Hockey Baker Award, honoring college hockey’s top player.
Cheverie, 23, was named the WCHA Player of the Year and ranks as the national leader in wins (24), save percentage (.937) and shutouts (6). The Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia native posted a 24-4-3 overall mark while playing for the University of Denver, helping his team earn the No. 1 ranking in the Division I standings. Cheverie was drafted by Florida in the seventh round (193rd overall) in the 2006 NHL Entry Draft.
The four-time Red Baron WCHA Defensive Player of the Week claimed the WCHA goaltending title with a 2.05 goals against average in league play. Cheverie is the sixth Pioneer to earn league MVP honors, joining Jerry Walker (1961), Keith Magnuson (1968), Ron Grahame (1973), Dallas Gaume (1986) and Matt Carle (2006).
“Marc is a talented prospect, who has had an exceptional season for Denver University this year,” said Panthers General Manager Randy Sexton. “Through his on and off ice commitment and work ethic, he has helped his club rise to the top of the Division I standings, with the opportunity to compete for an NCAA title.

"We have, and will continue to closely monitor his development and progress and look forward to the possibility of Marc playing for the Florida Panthers in the future.”
The ten finalists were selected by voting from all 58 Division I college hockey head coaches and by online fan balloting at  Criteria for the award include: strength of character on and off the ice, displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.
Alphabetically, the finalists include : Bobby Butler, New Hampshire, Marc Cheverie, Denver, Blake Geoffrion, Wisconsin, Gustav Nyquist, Maine, Mark Olver, Northern Michigan, Chase Polacek, Rensselear, Rhett Rakhshani, Denver, Cody Reichard, Miami of Ohio, Ben Scrivens, Cornell, and Brendan Smith, Wisconsin.
The Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists will be announced on March 31, 2010 and the Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced Friday, April 9, 2010 from Ford Field in Detroit, Mich., during the NCAA Frozen Four.
Sunrise Sports & Entertainment is the premier company of its kind in South Florida. Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube. Home to more than 200 events annually and the Florida Panthers Hockey Club, the BankAtlantic Center was a finalist for Arena of the Year in annual awards given by trade publication Pollstar. The BankAtlantic Center welcomes more than two million guests each year and is also the home of Sawgrass Live presented by BankAtlantic.
View More