Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Florida Panthers

Panthers News

Dale Tallon Selected As Finalist For NHL General Manager Of The Year

by Staff Writer / Florida Panthers

The National Hockey League announced today that Florida Panthers Executive Vice President & General Manager Dale Tallon has been selected as a finalist for the National Hockey League’s General Manager of the Year Award.

In less than two years, Dale Tallon has been responsible for reshaping the club’s roster as the team earned its first Southeast Division title in franchise history. Florida finished the 2011-12 season with a 38-26-18 record and its 94 points were the most since totaling 98 points in 1999-2000 (43-27-6-6).

Tallon made a splash in the 2011 offseason when he completely revamped the Panthers lineup, adding 10 players that would be mainstays on the 2011-12 roster. Noteworthy moves include trading for Brian Campbell and Kris Versteeg, and signing free agents Tomas Fleischmann, Jose Theodore, Sean Bergenheim, Ed Jovanovski, and Scottie Upshall, in addition to multiple other players who had the best statistical seasons of their careers in 2011-12.

Tallon also made improvements to the Panthers lineup throughout the regular season acquiring six veterans (Mikael Samuelsson, Marco Sturm, Krys Barch, John Madden, Wojtek Wolski and Jerred Smithson) who helped Florida earn their first postseason berth since 2000.

After finishing the 2010-11 season with 72 points and 15th place in the Eastern Conference, Tallon hired new head coach Kevin Dineen in June of 2011. Dineen led the team to its first division title and a 22-point increase in the standings from the previous season.

In addition to the current Panthers roster, Tallon has ensured the Panthers will have a bright future by loading up on draft picks and top prospects. Florida is listed No. 1 among all NHL teams for best prospects by Hockey’s Future. Since joining Florida, Tallon has conducted two successful NHL Entry Drafts that have seen the club stockpile 23 picks, including four first-round selections: No. 3 – F Jonathan Huberdeau (2011), No. 3 – D Erik Gudbranson (2010), No. 19 – C Nick Bjugstad (2010) and No. 25 C Quinton Howden (2010).

On Monday, D Brian Campbell was selected as a finalist for the NHL’s Lady Byng Memorial Trophy. The winners for both awards will be announced at the 2012 NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 20.

Florida visits the New Jersey Devils in Game 6 of their Eastern Conference Quarterfinals series tonight at 7:30 p.m. The game will be broadcast live on the NBC Sports Network and 560 WQAM Sports Radio.

The Panthers’ official Game 6 watch party will take place at Duffy's Sports Grill in Plantation. Stanley C. Panther and the Redline Lady Panthers will be in attendance, distributing giveaways and signing autographs for fans. Drink and food specials will be available, including the first draft free for fans wearing Panthers gear. Fans can also watch Game 6 – and every Stanley Cup Playoff game – at the Iceplex’s Breakaway Bar & Grill.

The Panthers’ 2012 postseason is presented by Party City and tickets are on sale now at all Ticketmaster outlets, charge by phone (800-745-3000), at and at the BankAtlantic Center box office or by calling 954-835-PUCK.

Sunrise Sports & Entertainment is the premier company of its kind in South Florida. Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube. Home to the Florida Panthers hockey club and internationally recognized concerts and events, the Broward County-owned BankAtlantic Center is one of the top ranked venues of its kind in the world.

View More