Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Florida Panthers

Panthers News

Cats Prospect G David Shantz Advances to Memorial Cup

by Staff Writer / Florida Panthers

SUNRISE, Fla. – Florida Panthers prospect G David Shantz and his Peterborough Petes squad advanced to the Memorial Cup, after clinching the Ontario Hockey League title with a four-game sweep of the London Knights. The Petes won the J. Ross Robertson Cup as the OHL champions for the ninth time, after going 10-0 at home during the playoffs.

Shantz, 20, has played in all 19 games for the Petes during the playoffs, posting a 16-3 mark with a 2.61 GAA and a .925 save percentage. Peterborough faces the Quebec Remparts in the first game of the round-robin competition on Friday, May 19 (a complete schedule can be found below). It marks the first Memorial Cup appearance of his junior career.

The Hamilton, Ontario native appeared in 49 regular season contests with Peterborough posting a 31-16-1 mark with a 2.87 GAA. He was originally drafted by Florida with its second choice (37th overall) in the 2004 NHL Entry Draft.

Since 1919 the Memorial Cup has been awarded to Canada's National Junior Champions. This prestigious and storied trophy will be presented for the 87th time this year in Moncton, N.B. Current Panthers who have won the Memorial Cup include Juraj Kolnik (Quebec-2000), Gregory Campbell (Kitchener-2003) and Gary Roberts (Guelph-1986).

The names on the Memorial Cup include many of hockey's greatest builders, coaches, managers and players. Thirty one members of the Hockey Hall of Fame have had their names engraved on the Memorial Cup including players like Guy Lafleur, Andy Bathgate, Harry Howell, Bobby Bauer, Ted Lindsay, Bernie Parent, Red Kelly and Toe Blake. Lionel Conacher, Canada's Athlete of the First Half Century, was a member of the Toronto Canoe Club's winning team in 1920. Conacher was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1961. Builders of the game such as Father David Bauer, Scotty Bowman, Sam Pollack, Glen Sather and Frank Selke were members of Memorial Cup winning teams.


Friday, May 19 – Peterborough vs. Quebec

Saturday, May 20 – Moncton vs. Vancouver

Sunday, May 21 – Quebec vs. Vancouver

Monday, May 22 – Moncton vs. Peterborough

Tuesday, May 23 – Vancouver vs. Peterborough

Wednesday, May 24 – Quebec vs. Moncton

Thursday, May 25 – Tiebreaker

Friday, May 26 – Semifinals

Sunday, May 28 – Final

View More