Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

WHL player of the year nominees announced

by Staff Writer / Edmonton Oilers
The Western Hockey League recently announced their respective finalists for the WHL Player of the Year and the winner will be announced at the 2009 WHL awards luncheon in Edmonton on April 29th at the Northlands Agricom.

Representing the Eastern Conference is Calgary Hitmen forward Brett Sonne. The 2007 third round pick of the St. Louis Blues had a breakout season recording 48 goals and 100 points in just 62 games.

Sonne, also helped guide Canada at the 2009 World Junior Hockey Championships in Ottawa. The 19-year-old recently signed a three-year entry level deal with St. Louis.

The Western Conference nominee is Vancouver Giants forward Casey Pierro-Zabotel. The 20-year-old, who is a 2007 third round pick of the Pittsburgh Penguins won the Bob Clarke Trophy as the WHL’s top scorer after tallying 36 goals and 115 points in 72 games.
View More