Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

Three Edmonton Oilers In The Rotation For Edmonton Capitals Championship Series

by Edmonton Capitals Press Release / Edmonton Oilers
Oilers legend Grant Fuhr will be throwing out the first pitch tonight.

Edmonton, AB - The Edmonton Capitals announced the lineup of Edmonton sports champions who will be attending North American Baseball League Championship Series games to throw out the ceremonial first pitches.  The honoured guests will include a Memorial Cup champion, a Stanley Cup champion, 2 Grey Cup champions and Olympic gold medalist.The series opener featured former Edmonton Oilers captain Al Hamilton who won a Memorial Cup with the Edmonton Oil Kings in 1966.   Friday night will feature Hockey Hall of Fame member and 5-time Stanley Cup champion Grant Fuhr.   Saturdays game will see two Edmonton Eskimos and Grey Cup champions, Ricky Ray and Willie Pless take to the mound.  Sunday afternoon's game 4 will feature Olympic and World Junior gold medalist and current Edmonton Oilers veteran Ryan Smyth.
Steve Brown and Brent Metheny each hit home runs and starter Lou Pote gave a brilliant pitching performance as the Edmonton Capitals defeated the Rio Grande Valley WhiteWings 7-1 in Game 1 of the North American League Championship Series on Thursday night.
A vibrant crowd of 3,083 packed the ballpark on the scorching September evening to see the hometown Caps take a 1-0 lead in the best-of-seven series, all of which is being held in Edmonton.  The veteran hurler Pote tossed an absolute gem for the Caps on Thursday, as he gave up just one run on seven hits through eight innings with a whopping 11 strikeouts. The 2002 World Series champion with the Anaheim Angels and Sherwood Park resident, who recently turned 40, is scheduled to retire from professional baseball at the end of the season.
NAL championship series tickets are available at all Ticketmaster outlets, at the Capitals Box Office (10233 – 96 Ave) during regular business hours Monday through Friday, online at or via phone at 780-414-GOAL (4625).
Ceremonial First Pitch Participants
Game 1 - Thursday September 8, 2011
Al Hamilton - Edmonton Oil Kings (1966 Memorial Cup)
Game 2 - Friday September 9, 2011

Grant Fuhr - Edmonton Oilers (Stanley Cup Winner 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990)

Game 3 - Saturday September 10, 2011

Ricky Ray - Edmonton Eskimos (Grey Cup Winner 2003, 2005) Willie Pless - Edmonton Eskimos (Grey Cup Winner 1993)

Game 4 - Sunday September 11, 2011

Ryan Smyth - Edmonton Oilers (Olympic Gold 2002, World Junior Gold 1995)
View More