Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

Smyth named Oilers nominee for the 2014 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

by Edmonton Oilers Press Release / Edmonton Oilers

The Edmonton chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA) has named forward Ryan Smyth as the Edmonton Oilers nominee for the 2014 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

The Masterton Trophy, awarded since the 1967-68 season, is given annually to the player "who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey". The PHWA chapters from all 30 NHL teams nominate one player from the team they cover and the winner of the award is selected by a poll among the 30 chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season schedule.

Veteran left winger Ryan Smyth is in his 20th NHL season and his 15th season with the Oilers. The 6’2”, 191-pound forward has surpassed the 1,250 game mark and recorded 23 points (10G, 13A) and five power play goals this season.

The 38-year old Smyth scored his 126th power play goal on March 6th against the New York Islanders, tying Glenn Anderson for the Oilers all-time record in power play goals.

The Oilers drafted Smyth in the 1st round, 6th overall, in the 1994 NHL Entry Draft. He ranks in several Oilers all-time leader categories including second in games played (966), sixth in points (631), fifth in goals (296), seventh in assists (335), fifth in hat tricks (5), fourth in game winning goals (45) and first in power play goals (126).

The Banff, Alberta native has represented Canada several times internationally, most recently at the 2012 Spengler Cup, where he captained the team to a championship. He is Canada’s all-time leader in games played at the World Hockey Championship and has served as Captain for six Championships (2001-05 and 2010). Captain Canada has won gold on several occasions, most notably the 2002 Winter Olympic Games in Salt Lake City, Utah.

View More