Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

RELEASE: Draisaitl named finalist for Ted Lindsay Award

Oilers forward joins Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche and Artemi Panarin of the New York Rangers

by Press Release /

EDMONTON, AB - The National Hockey League Players' Association (NHLPA) announced today that Oilers forward Leon Draisaitl is one of three finalists for the 2019-20 Ted Lindsay Award, along with Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche and Artemi Panarin of the New York Rangers.

The Ted Lindsay Award, formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, is presented annually to the most outstanding player during the NHL regular season, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

Video: OILERS TODAY | Love For Leon 07.14.20

Draisaitl, a first-time finalist for the award, played in all 71 of Edmonton's regular-season games as he helped lead the Oilers to the fifth-best points percentage in the Western Conference.

The 24-year-old forward topped all scorers with 110 points, becoming the first German-born player to win the Art Ross Trophy. Draisaitl also led the NHL in points per game (1.55), assists (67), power-play points (44) and average ice time among forwards (22:37), while he tied for first in game-winning goals (10). He also finished second in both even-strength points (66) and power-play goals (16), and he placed fourth in goals (43) on the season.

Video: Ted Lindsay Award Finalists

Draisaitl is looking to become the first German recipient of the Ted Lindsay Award, and follow teammate Connor McDavid's back-to-back awards (2016-17, 2017-18) to give the Oilers three of the last four names on the trophy.

The Ted Lindsay Award is the only award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established with the Lester B. Pearson Award in 1970-71. Reintroduced in 2009-10, the award honours the legacy of its namesake - the late Ted Lindsay - an NHL all-star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership and role in establishing the original Players' Association.

The 2019-20 Ted Lindsay Award recipient will be announced during the Stanley Cup Playoffs' Conference Finals (exact date TBD).

View More