Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

RELEASE: Draisaitl named finalist for Hart Memorial Trophy

Oilers forward has already won the 2019-20 Art Ross Trophy as the NHL's leading scorer and is one of three finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award

by Press Release /

EDMONTON, AB - Oilers forward and alternate captain Leon Draisaitl has been voted as one of three finalists for the 2019-2020 Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team.

The National Hockey League announced the finalists today, which also include Colorado Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon and New York Rangers forward Artemi Panarin.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association submitted ballots for the Hart Trophy after the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be revealed during the Conference Finals, with the exact date, format and time to be determined.

Video: OILERS TODAY | Power Players 07.21.20


Draisaitl (43-67-110 in 71 GP) became the first German-born player to win the Art Ross Trophy and topped the NHL with 110 points, 13 more than the next-closest player (teammate Connor McDavid: 97). He registered at least one point in 56 of his 71 appearances, the highest such percentage in the League (78.9%) ahead of Panarin (78.3%) and Patrick Kane (77.1%).

Draisaitl also recorded a League-best 33 multi-point performances, four more than MacKinnon and David Pastrnak (29), and led NHL forwards in both total (1,605:24) and average time on ice (22:37). Draisaitl, who reached the 100-point milestone for the second consecutive season (50 55-105 in 2018-19), paced all 2019-20 players in assists (67), power-play points (44) and game-winning goals (t-10) while also ranking among the top five in power-play goals (2nd; 16), power-play assists (2nd; 28), shooting percentage (3rd; 19.7%) and goals (4th; 43).

The 24-year-old Cologne native is vying to become the first German-born player to win the Hart Trophy. He also is seeking to become the fourth player to capture the award with the Oilers, following Wayne Gretzky (8x, most recently 1986-87), Mark Messier (1989-90) and McDavid (2016-17).

View More