Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

Raising the Cup: Game 5 - 1990 Stanley Cup Final

by Staff / Edmonton Oilers
HIGHLIGHTS: 1984 - Game 5 vs. New York Islanders

HIGHLIGHTS: 1985 - Game 5 vs. Philadelphia
HIGHLIGHTS: 1987 - Game 7 vs. Philadelphia
HIGHLIGHTS: 1988 - Game 4 vs. Boston
HIGHLIGHTS: 1990 - Game 5 vs. Boston

Dynasties are few and far between in the NHL and one of the more historic ones is that of the Edmonton Oilers, which featured  some of the best players the League has ever seen. Winners of five Stanley Cups in a seven-year span, the Oilers ruled the NHL between 1984 and 1990.

Meanwhile, back east, the "Original Six" Boston Bruins hadn't been to the Stanley Cup Final since 1987-88, where they were swept by - you guessed it - the Oilers. Interestingly, though, they skated into the 1990 Final having owned the best record in the NHL and were ready for revenge.

Ultimately, the Oilers proved to be too much for the B's, as they captured their fifth Stanley Cup after a five-game series.

Of the various storylines for this series, the most notable involved Wayne Gretzky. Synonymous, arguably, with the Oilers franchise and dynasty, the 1990 Final represented the only time in which "The Great One" did not lace up his skates with the club. On August 8, 1988, the Oilers were involved in one of the most famous trades in professional sports, when they shipped Gretzky to the Los Angeles Kings. Without "The Great One" in the lineup, the new Oilers with the same high expectations were led by their new captain, Mark Messier.

It's impossible to predict how the series would've gone had the triple overtime Game 1 went in favor of the B's, but it did not. Petr Klima's overtime winner - the longest game in Cup Final history - sunk the Bruins and propelled the Oilers on a cruise the rest of the way, particularly 7-2, 5-1 and 4-1 victories in Games 2, 4 and 5, respectively.

When all was said and done, Oilers' goalie Bill Ranford earned the Conn Smythe Trophy for playoff MVP, while then-Bruin Ray Bourque would not get back to the Final until his final campaign in 2001 with the Colorado Avalanche.

The Oilers haven't won since 1990, while the Bruins hadn't until this past season, when they defeated the Vancouver Canucks for the franchise's sixth Stanley Cup.

Author: Staff

View More