Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

PRESS RELEASE: Perron and Scrivens named to Team Canada

by Edmonton Oilers Press Release / Edmonton Oilers

Hockey Canada announced today Edmonton Oilers forward David Perron and goaltender Ben Scrivens have been named to Team Canada for the 2014 World Hockey Championship, May 9-25, 2014 in Minsk, Belarus.

Perron, 25, appeared in 78 games this season, posting 57 points (28G, 29A) and 90 penalty minutes. He led the Oilers in several categories including goals (28) and power play goals (8).

The Sherbrooke, Quebec native had a career year, ranking third on the Oilers in scoring and set career highs in points, goals, power play goals and shots.

This will mark Perron’s first time representing Team Canada internationally.

Scrivens, 27, appeared in a career high 40 games this season, compiling a record of 16-16-4, a .922 save percentage, a 2.55 goals against average and four shutouts.

The 6’2”, 193 pound netminder established a new National Hockey League record for the most saves in a regulation shutout, posting 59 saves in the Oilers 3-0 win over the San Jose Sharks on January 29th, 2014. The shutout broke Mike Smith’s previous record of 54 saves, set on April 3rd, 2012.

This is the first time the Spruce Grove, Alberta native will represent Team Canada on the international stage.

Full Roster:

James Reimer               Morweena, Man.           Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL)
Ben Scrivens                Spruce Grove, Alta.       Edmonton Oilers (NHL)

Kevin Bieksa                 Elmira, Ont.                  Vancouver Canucks (NHL)
Ryan Ellis                      Freelton, Ont.                Nashville Predators (NHL)
Jason Garrison               White Rock, B.C.         Vancouver Canucks (NHL)
Erik Gudbranson           Ottawa, Ont.                 Florida Panthers (NHL)
Marc Methot                  Ottawa, Ont.                 Ottawa Senators (NHL)
Tyler Myers                   Calgary, Alta.               Buffalo Sabres (NHL)
Morgan Rielly               West Vancouver, B.C.  Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL)

Troy Brouwer                Vancouver, B.C.           Washington Capitals (NHL)
Alexandre Burrows        Pincourt, Que.               Vancouver Canucks (NHL)
Jason Chimera                Edmonton, Alta.            Washington Capitals (NHL)
Cody Hodgson               Markham, Ont.              Buffalo Sabres (NHL)
Jonathan Huberdeau       St-Jérôme, Que.             Florida Panthers (NHL)
Nazem Kadri                  London, Ont.                 Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL)
Sean Monahan               Brampton, Ont.              Calgary Flames (NHL)
David Perron                 Sherbrooke, Que.           Edmonton Oilers (NHL)
Mark Scheifele              Kitchener, Ont.               Winnipeg Jets (NHL)
Kyle Turris                    New Westminster, B.C. Ottawa Senators (NHL)
Joel Ward                      North York, Ont.           Washington Capitals (NHL)

Canada can add players, including players eliminated during the Stanley Cup playoffs, but can only register 25 players, including three goaltenders, on its official roster. 

View More