Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

Last day to sign up for the Priority Draw for the Greatest Team Event!

Ticket priority draw opens November 1. Proceeds of event going to Dave Semenko Legacy endowment

by Press Release / Edmonton Oilers

(Edmonton, AB) -The 1984-85 Edmonton Oilers faced tough competition to win the Stanley Cup and over three decades later they prevailed once again as they were voted the "Greatest Team of All Time" as part of the NHL's 2017 Centennial Celebrations. In recognition of this significant distinction, Oilers Entertainment Group (OEG) announced today a very special public event will take place at Rogers Place on Sunday, February 11, 2018. Wayne Gretzky, Mark Messier and their 1984-85 teammates will host an intimate and interactive evening of storytelling and unique multimedia vignettes that will recount their journey to legendary status atop the list of greatest teams in NHL history.

Video: 85 OILERS | Press Conference Highlights

Demand from Oilers fans is expected to be very high for this unique, smaller-scale evening in the bowl of Rogers Place. To provide fans the fairest possible access to tickets, the Oilers have introduced a Ticket Priority Draw at Effective immediately, fans can sign up at no cost for the opportunity to purchase tickets. The deadline to enter the Priority Draw is Wednesday, November 15, 2017. A random draw will be held from all the Priority Draw entries and those selected will be provided the opportunity to secure seats to this unique event. Seating will be reserved and will start at $85 per seat. Full details on the event will be announced prior to the seat purchase window.

Net proceeds from the event will be directed toward the Edmonton Oilers Community Foundation (EOCF) who will establish a legacy endowment in the name of legendary Oiler and member of the 1984-85 Championship team Dave Semenko, who passed away in 2017 after a brief but courageous battle with cancer.

"It is an amazing honour to be voted greatest team by NHL fans, something we don't take lightly, respecting the great history of the game and legendary teams who made their mark on the League," said Oilers Entertainment Group Partner and Captain of the 1984-85 Oilers, Wayne Gretzky. "We are excited to share this with our fans and get the team together, which is all the more fitting to do in Dave's memory."

The Oilers emerged from more than 3.6 million votes through interactive digital and mobile programs from April 13 to May 25 as the Greatest Team of All Time as part of the NHL's centennial celebration. The 96 Cup winners since the League's inaugural season in 1917-18 competed in head-to-head voting. The Oilers had a remarkable four teams in the Top 10. The list includes the 1983-84 Oilers, 1987-88 Oilers and 1986-87 Oilers joining some of the other storied teams in NHL history including the 1991-92 Pittsburgh Penguins, 1976-77 Montreal Canadiens, 1997-98 Detroit Red Wings, 1982-83 New York Islanders, 1977-78 Canadiens, and 2001-02 Red Wings.

1984-85 Edmonton Oilers

9 Glenn Anderson F
25 Billy Carroll C
7 Paul Coffey D
2 Lee Fogolin D
31 Grant Fuhr G
21 Randy Gregg D
99 Wayne Gretzky C
22 Charlie Huddy D
16 Pat Hughes F
12 Dave Hunter F
29 Don Jackson D
26 Mike Krushelnyski C
17 Jari Kurri F
19 Willy Lidstrom F
4 Kevin Lowe D
20 Dave Lumley F
24 Kevin McClelland F
30 Larry Melnyk D
11 Mark Messier C
35 Andy Moog G
31 Mark Napier F
10 Jaroslav Pouzar F
27 Dave Semenko F
14 Esa Tikkanen F

Peter Pocklington

Coaches & Management
Glen Sather
Bruce MacGregor
John Muckler
Ted Green

Barry Fraser
Garnett "Ace" Bailey
Ed Chadwick
Lorne Davis
Matti Vaisanen

Medical and Trainers
Peter Millar
Dr. Gordon Cameron
Barrie Stafford
Lyle Kulchisky

View More