Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

Oilers McDavid Wins Hart Trophy as NHL MVP

Hart Memorial Trophy awarded "to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team."

by Press Release /

Centre Connor McDavid  of the Edmonton Oilers has won the Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded "to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team," as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Video: Connor McDavid is awarded the Hart Memorial Trophy

McDavid was the only player named on each of the 167 ballots cast and received 147 first-place votes for 1,604 voting points. Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby, named on 166 ballots including 14 first-place tallies, collected 1,104 points and finished second in voting for the second consecutive year. Columbus Blue Jackets goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky ranked third (469).

McDavid captured the Art Ross Trophy as the NHL's scoring leader with 100 points (30 goals, 70 assists), sparking the Oilers (47-26-9) to a berth in the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2005-06. The team's 103 standings points were its most in 30 years. McDavid registered at least one point in 59 of his 82 appearances (72.0%), highlighted by a career-high, 14-game point streak to close the season (7-18--25) - the longest by any NHL player in 2016-17. He also posted a League-best 30 multi-point performances. McDavid, who placed third in voting for the Calder Trophy as the NHL's top rookie last season, becomes the third player in NHL history to win MVP honors before his 21st birthday, joining Crosby and Wayne Gretzky.

Video: POST-AWARDS | Connor McDavid

McDavid becomes the first Oiler to win the Hart Trophy since Mark Messier in 1990.

2016-2017 Hart Trophy Voting

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

1. Connor McDavid, EDM 1604 (147-17-3-0-0)

2. Sidney Crosby, PIT 1104 (14-119-19-11-3)

3. Sergei Bobrovsky, CBJ 469 (4-17-40-29-23)

4. Brent Burns, SJS 273 (1-3-25-29-30)

5. Erik Karlsson, OTT 258 (0-5-28-23-14)

6. Patrick Kane, CHI 206 (0-3-20-20-25)

7. Brad Marchand, BOS 184 (1-1-14-22-31)

8. Nikita Kucherov, TBL 119 (0-0-11-15-19)

9. Nicklas Backstrom, WSH 60 (0-0-3-11-12)

10. Braden Holtby, WSH 19 (0-0-2-3-0)

11. Auston Matthews, TOR 17 (0-0-2-1-4)

12. Alex Ovechkin, WSH 7 (0-1-0-0-0)

Ryan Suter, MIN 7 (0-1-0-0-0)

14. Victor Hedman, TBL 5 (0-0-0-1-2)

15. Devan Dubnyk, MIN 4 (0-0-0-1-1)

Vladimir Tarasenko, STL 4 (0-0-0-1-1)

17. Cam Atkinson, CBJ 1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Cam Talbot, EDM 1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Hart Trophy Winners Since 1990

Year Winner Runner-up

2017 Connor McDavid, Edm. Sidney Crosby, Pit.

2016 Patrick Kane, Chi. Sidney Crosby, Pit.

2015 Carey Price, Mtl. Alex Ovechkin, Wsh.

2014 Sidney Crosby, Pit. Ryan Getzlaf, Ana.

2013 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Sidney Crosby, Pit.

2012 Evgeni Malkin, Pit. Steven Stamkos, T.B.

2011 Corey Perry, Ana. Daniel Sedin, Van.

2010 Henrik Sedin, Van. Alex Ovechkin, Wsh.

2009 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Evgeni Malkin, Pit.

2008 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Evgeni Malkin, Pit.

2007 Sidney Crosby, Pit. Roberto Luongo, Van.

2006 Joe Thornton, S.J. Jaromir Jagr, NYR

2004 Martin St. Louis, T.B. Jarome Iginla, Cgy.

2003 Peter Forsberg, Col. Markus Naslund, Van.

2002 Jose Theodore, Mtl. Jarome Iginla, Cgy.

2001 Joe Sakic, Col. Mario Lemieux, Pit.

2000 Chris Pronger, St.L Jaromir Jagr, Pit.

1999 Jaromir Jagr, Pit. Alexei Yashin, Ott.

1998 Dominik Hasek, Buf. Jaromir Jagr, Pit.

1997 Dominik Hasek, Buf. Paul Kariya, Ana.

1996 Mario Lemieux, Pit. Mark Messier, NYR

1995 Eric Lindros, Phi. Jaromir Jagr, Pit.

1994 Sergei Fedorov, Det. Dominik Hasek, Buf.

1993 Mario Lemieux, Pit. Doug Gilmour, Tor.

1992 Mark Messier, NYR Patrick Roy, Mtl.

1991 Brett Hull, St.L Wayne Gretzky, L.A.

1990 Mark Messier, Edm. Ray Bourque, Bos.

View More