Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

Oilers congratulate Edmonton Sun columnist Terry Jones

by Edmonton Oilers Press Release / Edmonton Oilers
The Edmonton Oilers would like to congratulate Edmonton Sun columnist Terry Jones, who today joins Rod Phillips and Jim Matheson as honored award winners in the prestigious Hockey Hall of Fame.

Terry, who has witnessed and chronicled every moment in the rich and storied history of the Edmonton Oilers, has been named this years recipient of the Elmer Ferguson Memorial award for excellence in hockey journalism.  The announcement was made earlier today by Hockey Hall of Fame Chairman and CEO, Bill Hay.
Jones had his first hockey stories published in the weekly Lacombe Globe when he was just in Grade 7 and in the daily Red Deer Advocate when he was in Grade 10.  Jones moved to the Edmonton Sun in 1982 and has covered over 500 Stanley Cup playoff games including all 251 in Edmonton Oilers history; all Canada Cups/World Cups dating back to 1976; and several IIHF World Championships in Europe and World Juniors in Canada.  He also holds the Canadian record for most Olympics covered at 16. 
On November 14, 2011, Jones and Detroit Red Wings colour commentator Mickey Redmond, who will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster, will both receive their awards at a luncheon presentation.
This year’s Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Weekend will take place November 11th to 14th, culminating with the Induction Ceremony beginning at 7:30 P.M. (EST) on Monday, November 14th.

Named in honour of the late Montreal newspaper reporter, the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award was first presented in 1984 by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association in recognition of distinguished members of the hockey writing profession whose words have brought honour to journalism and to the game of hockey.  The Foster Hewitt Memorial Award is named in honour of the late “Voice of Hockey” in Canada.  It was first presented in 1984 by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association in recognition of members of the radio and television industry who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and to the game of hockey.
View More