Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

McDonald crowned AHL's top scorer

by Edmonton Oilers Press Release / Edmonton Oilers
Oklahoma City Barons forward Colin McDonald led the AHL with 42 goals during the 2010-11 regular season. (Photo by Steven Christy / OKC Barons)
Edmonton Oilers prospect Colin McDonald captured the Willie Marshall Award as the American Hockey League’s leading goal scorer for the 2010-11 campaign.

McDonald, 6’3”, 205lbs, captured the AHL goal-scoring title with 42 goals, surging to the title by scoring 10 times in his last seven games and breaking a tie with Hamilton’s Nigel Dawes with 2:32 remaining in Sunday’s season finale for the Oklahoma City Barons.

The fourth-year pro entered the season with 34 goals in 226 games over his first three AHL campaigns, but scored 42 times in 80 games for the Barons, including a four-goal game on April 8th at San Antonio.

The AHL’s goal-scoring award was established in 2004 to honour Willie Marshall, the AHL’s all-time leader in goals, assists, points and games played. During his 20-year AHL playing career, Marshall won three Calder Cup championships (1955, 1958, 1959) and one scoring title. Jeff Hamilton (2004), Mike Cammalleri (2005), Donald MacLean (2006), Denis Hamel (2006), Brett Sterling (2007), Jason Krog (2008) and current-Baron, Alexandre Giroux (2009, ’10) were the first winners of the Willie Marshall Award.

Edmonton Oilers hockey is presented in part by the Rexall Family of Pharmacies, Molson Canadian, ATB Financial, TELUS, Cenovus Energy and Ford.
View More