Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

LIVE BLOG: Post-Game Ceremony

by Meg Tilley / Edmonton Oilers
This page will not automatically refresh.

Refresh this page manually for updates as we will be adding notes, quotes, videos, tweets and much more!


10:00 AM MDT: Take a look back to Wednesday morning and watch our live Farewell Rexall Place show, including special guests of Oilers past and present:

12:15 PM MDT: Oilers TV reporter Jessica Kent was on location at Churchill Square for the noon rally with Oilers alumni:


5:00 PM MDT: Before the Oilers took the ice, they played a special opening video:

5:08 PM MDT: Following a ceremonial puck drop, Oilers fans joined in with Paul Lorieau to sing O Canada one final time:

7:45 PM MDT: Oilers TV reporter Jessica Kent talks to fans who give their favourite memories of the old building on its final night:


7:45 PM MDT: The game has ended and the ceremony will begin at 8:15 p.m. MDT. Take a look at highlights from the game or read our LIVE IN-GAME BLOG for more information and stats:

8:15 PM MDT: The Matrix Board (aka "Lite-Brite") welcomes fans to the post-game ceremony.

8:20 PM MDT: The Edmonton Symphony Orchestra plays Flight of The Valkyries as the Matrix Board lists the Oilers timeline.

8:25 PM MDT: The Oilers alumni are introduced one-by-one as they enter the arena to join one another out onto the ice.

9:00 PM MDT:
Ceremony MC Bill Tuele is announced who also introduces the video montage of Oilers players, staff, ownership that have passed in "In Memoriam Of."

9:04 PM MDT:
Welcoming John Shannon and Gene Principe to the ice who are conducting on-ice interviews with: Blair MacDonald, Bill Ranford, Rusty Patenaude, Ken Linseman, Craig Muni, Louie DeBrusk, Jordan Eberle, Georges Laraque, Pat Hughes, Ron Chipperfield, Bob and Ted McAneeley, Fernando Pisani, Marty McSorley, Craig Simpson, Ron Low, Taylor Hall, Todd McLellan, Ryan Smyth, Grant Fuhr, Paul Coffey, Glenn Anderson
9:51 PM MDT: Hockey Night in Canada announcer Bob Cole is introduced for the final question, along with Wayne Gretzky and Mark Messier.

9:58 PM MDT:
Kevin Lowe is introduced to speak to the fans.

10:02 PM MDT: Lowe asks the Oilers alumni Banner Boys to assist in the lowering of the Oilers Farewell Rexall Place banner.

10:07 PM MDT:
Joey Moss is introduced and helps to receive the Farewell Rexall Place banner with the Banner Boys.
10:10 PM MDT: Farewell Rexall Place video is played and for one last reflection on the Building that's housed the Oilers for over 40 years.

10:15 PM MDT: All 160+ Oilers alumni and current Oilers players raise hockey sticks for their final Rexall Place salute.
View More