Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

Horcoff named Oilers 13th captain

by Edmonton Oilers Press Release / Edmonton Oilers
EDMONTON, CANADA - JANUARY 11: Shawn Horcoff #10 of the Edmonton Oilers skates against the St. Louis Blues on January 11, 2009 at Rexall Place in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. (Photo by Dale MacMillan/Getty Images)
The Edmonton Oilers have named Shawn Horcoff as their new captain, making him the 13th player to wear the “C” since the team joined the NHL in 1979.

The 32-year-old centre is entering his 10th NHL season, all with the Oilers. Drafted in the 4th round (99th overall) in the 1998 NHL Entry Draft, the 6’1”, 208 pound native of Trail, British Columbia has scored 374 points (133G, 241A) with 417 penalty minutes in 637 career games.
Horcoff played four years with Michigan State University before joining the Oilers and was named the CCHA Player of the Year as well as a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award.
Internationally, Horcoff has represented Canada three times at the World Championships, winning Gold in 2003 and 2004 and Silver in 2005.
Off the ice Horcoff is prominent in the community and is currently running “Horcoff’s Heroes”, a program which he and his wife, Cindy, started. The program allows groups of children an opportunity to attend an Oilers game throughout the season, and meet Shawn before the game for pictures and autographs.

Horcoff joins Ron Chipperfield (1979-80),  Blair MacDonald (1980-81), Lee Fogolin (1980-81 to 1982-1983), Wayne Gretzky (1983-84 to 1987-88), Mark Messier (1988-89 to 1990-91), Kevin Lowe (1991-92), Craig MacTavish (1992-93 to 1993-94), Shayne Corson (1994-95), Kelly Buchberger (1995-96 to 1998-99), Doug Weight (1999-00 to 2000-01), Jason Smith (2001-02 to 2006-07) and Ethan Moreau (2007-08 to 2009-10) in the succession of Oiler captains.   
Edmonton Oilers hockey is presented in part by the Rexall Family of Pharmacies, Molson Canadian, ATB Financial, TELUS, Cenovus Energy and Ford.

View More