Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

Former Oilers Captain Al Hamilton Announced as 2015 Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame Inductee

by Edmonton Oilers Press Release / Edmonton Oilers

(Edmonton, AB) – Hockey Alberta and the Hockey Alberta Foundation announced Tuesday former Oilers captain and Oil Kings Memorial Cup Champion Al Hamilton is one four individuals and one team that will make up the 2015 Induction Class for the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame (AHHF).

The 2015 inductees include Hamilton, whose jersey was the first to be retired by the Oilers, Ken Babey, well-known as Canada’s winningest post-secondary level hockey coach with Calgary’s SAIT Trojans, George Kallay, a long-time Hockey Alberta volunteer, and Lanny McDonald, a member of the Stanley Cup Champion Calgary Flames.

“This is a special time of year for the AHHF Selection Committee – we have the opportunity to look over and remember the significant contributions to our sport in Alberta, Canada and beyond,” said Bob Clark, Chairman of the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee. “It’s our honour to recognize these inductees. Their legacies and accomplishments can now take their place Alberta’s hockey history.”

"The entire Oilers organization is thrilled to learn about the honour and recognition our first-ever captain is receiving from the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame,” said Kevin Lowe, Oilers President of Hockey Operations. “Al was a leader on and off the ice as a player, and is still a fan favourite and an outstanding citizen in the community."

This year’s inductees will be recognized at the AHHF Awards Gala taking place on Saturday, July 25, 2015 at the Coast Hotel in Canmore.

The AHHF gallery is located within the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in Red Deer. The AHHF gallery is designed to preserve and celebrate Alberta’s hockey history. Display items date back to the first days of hockey, and include old jerseys, photographs, and trophies. The Hall of Fame maintains the legacy of professional and amateur hockey in Alberta.

View More