Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

Bodie named Falcons' Man of the Year

by Staff Writer / Edmonton Oilers
The Springfield Falcons are proud to announce that left wing Troy Bodie has been named the team’s winner of the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Springfield community during the 2007-08 season.

Bodie started the season assisting with the Springfield Falcons “Welcome Caravan,” a partnership with Friendly’s Ice Cream welcoming the new players from the Edmonton Oilers organization to the Pioneer Valley and Northern Connecticut.  Bodie assisted with visits to local Friendly’s Restaurants during training camp promoting the Falcons season and spending time with fans attending the events.

Bodie has also been a key member in building the Falcons’ strong relationship with local youth hockey teams throughout the Pioneer Valley and Northern Connecticut.  Bodie volunteered his time with local youth hockey teams helping lead the youngsters in hockey clinics throughout the season. Bodie would work with youth hockey team coaches to attend practices and assist with on-ice drills.  After each practice, Bodie would sign autographs for the kids and their families. 

Bodie was also a regular visitor to the Springfield Sliders Sled Hockey Team practices in Westfield, MA.  During Bodie’s visits to the sled hockey practices, he would work with youngsters on the ice during each practice and spend time with families off the ice as well.

Bodie also spent time with military members after the Falcons game on February 8, 2008 as part of their Military Appreciation Night.  Bodie signed autographs and took pictures with those individuals in attendance. 

In recognition of his efforts, Bodie will be presented with an etched crystal trophy during an on-ice presentation prior to an upcoming Falcons home game.Bodie is now one of 29 finalists for the AHL’s 2007-08 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the AHL in the coming weeks.

View More