Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

BLOG: Seven Oilers invited to Worlds

by Chris Wescott / Edmonton Oilers

Seven Oilers players could represent their home countries at the 2015 IIHF World Championship in Czech Republic.

ICYMI, @hallsy04 @ebs_14 @RNH_93 (CAN), @Klefbom93 (SWE), @MattHendy26 (USA) & @Nail10_1993 (RUS) invited to Worlds.

— Edmonton Oilers (@EdmontonOilers) April 14, 2015

Taylor Hall, Jordan Eberle and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins have been invited to join Team Canada.

Hall played 53 games this season for the Oilers, recording 38 points (14-24-38). Eberle led the Oilers in scoring with 63 points (24-39-63) in 81 games. He recorded 34 points in the final 35 games of the season.

Nugent-Hopkins established a new career high in goals with 24. He finished the season with 56 points (24-32-56) in 76 games. The centre will only play for Team Canada if and when he has recovered from a foot injury that caused him to miss the final four games of the regular season.

Nail Yakupov has been invited to Team Russia’s selection camp and will try out for a spot. The 21-year-old winger recorded a new career high in points with 33 (14-19-33) in 81 games. He had 21 points after the All-Star break.

Matt Hendricks will join Team USA. The 33-year-old was a locker room leader for the Oilers. He played 71 games this season, scoring eight goals and adding eight more assists with 76 penalty minutes. He also had 220 hits and 72 blocked shots.

Anton Lander and Oscar Klefbom have been invited to join Sweden. Lander is fresh off the best NHL season of his career. The centre recorded six goals and 14 assists for 20 points in 38 games. He had eight points in his previous 94 NHL games coming into this season. Klefbom developed nicely into the Oilers Defenceman of the Year, as voted upon by the Edmonton media. He finished the season with 20 points (2-18-20) in 60 games.

The World Championship is scheduled for May 1-17 in Prague and Ostrava, Czech Republic. San Jose Sharks Head Coach Todd McLellan was named the bench boss for Team Canada for the tournament.

View More