Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

BLOG: Hendricks earns Masterton honours

by Edmonton Oilers Press Release / Edmonton Oilers

The Edmonton chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA) has named forward Matt Hendricks as the Edmonton Oilers nominee for the 2016 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

The Masterton Trophy, awarded since the 1967-68 season, is given annually to the player "who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey". The PHWA chapters from all 30 NHL teams nominate one player from the team they cover and the winner of the award is selected by a poll among the 30 chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season schedule.

Hendricks, 34, is in his 8th NHL season and his 3rd season with the Oilers. He has registered 12 points (5G, 7A) and a plus three rating in 64 games this season and also leads the team in hits (161), as well as leads all Oilers forwards in blocked shots (68).

The 6’0”, 207-pound forward was drafted by the Nashville Predators in the 5th round, 131st overall in the 2000 NHL Draft. He has appeared in 475 career NHL games, accumulating 93 points (45G, 48A) and 621 penalty minutes. He has also played in 34 playoff games, posting two points (1G, 1A) and 10 penalty minutes.

The Edmonton Oilers Community Foundation in conjunction with Cenovus, have teamed up with Matt and Kim Hendricks to create ‘Hendricks’ Heroes’, a program to recognize and honour men and women of the Canadian Armed Forces. Matt and Kim Hendricks host two members of the military at 13 games throughout the 2015-16 season, where the guests are provided with two tickets, a meet and greet with Matt along with two personally signed Oilers jerseys, as well as dinner hosted by Kim.

The nomination marks the fourth time in Hendricks’ career and the second straight year where he has been nominated for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. The Blaine, Minnesota native was previously nominated by the Colorado Avalanche (2009-10), Washington Capitals (2010-11) and Edmonton Oilers (2014-15).

View More