Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

ALL-STAR: Preview by the numbers

Connor McDavid and Leon Draisaitl will compete for Team Pacific at the 2020 NHL All-Star Game in St. Louis at 6:00 PM MT

by Jamie Umbach /

ST. LOUIS, MO - The NHL All-Star Game is set to begin at 6:00 PM MT at the Enterprise Center in St. Louis, with Connor McDavid and Leon Draisaitl lining up for the Pacific Division together for the second straight year.

Here are some quick hits you need to know about Team Pacific and the All-Star Game heading into Saturday's contest:

  • The 2020 Honda NHL All-Star Game will again be a 3-on-3 tournament, the same used for each of the past four seasons. The 3-on-3 format will divide the 2020 Honda NHL All-Star Game into three 20-minute contests, with players from each division making up the four teams: Atlantic, Central, Metropolitan and Pacific.
  • The 2020 Honda NHL All-Star Game will feature a prize pool of $1 million to be paid in its entirety to the tournament's winning team.
  • Each team will include 11 players - nine skaters and two goaltenders - from its division.
  • Each game will be 20 minutes in length. Teams will change ends at the 10‑minute mark of each game. Games that are tied after 20 minutes will be decided by a shootout.
  • All NHL Rules will apply to each game. Video Review will be used to confirm all goals. NHL Hockey Operations will initiate any potential coach's challenge reviews.
  • All minor penalties will be one minute in length. Man-power advantages during these penalties will reflect current NHL Rules, where at no time will a team have fewer than three players on the ice -- this may require a fourth and/or fifth skater to be added.
  • The winners of each semifinal game will meet in the All-Star tournament final to determine the overall tournament champion.
  • The Pacific Division and Metropolitan Division have split the four All-Star titles played under the 3-on-3 format since 2016. The Pacific Division has captured All-Star honors in the even years, 2016 (Nashville) and 2018 (Tampa Bay), while the Metropolitan Division has won in the odd years, 2017 (Los Angeles) and 2019 (San Jose). Both the Atlantic and Central Division are in search of their first title.
  • In the first four years of the 3-on-3 All-Star format (2016-19), the Pacific Division has posted the most games played (seven), most wins (five) and best win percentage (.714, 5-2).
  • Following the Pacific Division in order of win percentage: Metropolitan (.667, 4-2-0), Atlantic (.333, 2-4-0) and Central (.200, 1-4-0).
  • Three of the four championship teams since the introduction of the 3-on-3 All-Star Game format have skated in the second of the two semifinal games prior to the final. The only winner who competed in the first semifinal was the Pacific Division, in 2018 at Tampa Bay. This year's schedule features the Atlantic meeting the Metropolitan in the first semifinal, followed by the Central taking on the Pacific in the second semifinal.
  • The average number of goals scored in the 12 games played under the 3-on-3 All-Star format is 10.3. The average for the eight semifinal games is 11.8, while the average for the four final games is a somewhat stingier 7.5.
  • In the 12 games played under the 3-on-3 All-Star Game format, only one team has managed to post a shutout. In 2016 at Nashville, the Pacific Division blanked the Atlantic Division, 1-0, in the championship game. Jonathan Quick stopped all 10 shots he faced in the first 10-minute period; John Gibson made seven saves in the second and final frame.
  • Goaltenders have posted a cumulative 15.17 goals-against average and .744 save percentage (346 saves on 465 shots) in the four years under the 3-on-3 All-Star Game format.
  • Six goaltenders have managed to blank the opposition over their 10-minute period in the 3-on-3 All-Star Game format: Roberto Luongo in 2016 (12 SV for Atlantic), Jonathan Quick in 2016 (10 SV for Pacific), John Gibson in 2016 (7 SV for Pacific), Braden Holtby in 2017 (5 SV for Metropolitan), Pekka Rinne in 2018 (4 SV for Central) and Henrik Lundqvist in 2019 (6 SV for Metropolitan).
  • One divisional matchup has yet to take place in the four years of the 3-on-3 All-Star format: Central vs. Atlantic.
  • The St. Louis Blues are the first team in more than 30 years to host the NHL All-Star Game as defending Stanley Cup champion. The last team to do so was the Edmonton Oilers, who captured the Stanley Cup in 1988 and held All-Star festivities in 1989.
  • Canucks defenseman Quinn Hughes will be in the Pacific Division lineup marking the third consecutive season a Vancouver rookie has played in the game (also Brock Boeser in 2018 and Elias Pettersson in 2019). This marks the first time in the expansion era and third time in All-Star history that a team has been represented by a rookie in three consecutive seasons.
  • Flames forward Matthew Tkachuk and Senators forward Brady Tkachuk will be the first brothers to compete in the same All-Star Game since Daniel Sedin and Henrik Sedin both represented Vancouver in 2012. Should Matthew (Pacific Division) meet Brady (Atlantic Division) in the final, they would become just the fifth set of brothers in the last 40 years to face each other in an All-Star Game. The others: the Sedins in 2011; Derian and Kevin Hatcher in 1997; Brian and Joe Mullen in 1989; Brent and Brian Sutter in 1985.
  • The Pacific Division is led by Edmonton's Connor McDavid  (27-49-76 in 49 GP) and Leon Draisaitl  (27-48-75 in 49 GP), who rank first and second in the Art Ross Trophy race with near-identical stat lines. Over the last 30 years, only three sets of teammates have finished first and second in the NHL scoring race at season's end: Martin St. Louis (1st) and Steven Stamkos (2nd) in 2012-13, Mario Lemieux (1st) and Jaromir Jagr(2nd) in 1995-96 and Lemieux (1st) and Kevin Stevens (2nd) in 1991-92.
View More