Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

61 hockey champions to attend HCF Celebrity Classic Gala

by Hockey Canada Press Release / Edmonton Oilers
EDMONTON, Alta. – The Hockey Canada Foundation (HCF), in collaboration with the HCF Celebrity Classic organizing committee, announced Thursday that 61 of the 64 Olympic and World hockey champions from the 2009-10 season have confirmed their attendance for the HCF Celebrity Classic gala, including the Canada Celebrates event at Commonwealth Stadium on Monday, June 28 in Edmonton.

The list of sixty-one players who will attend the event includes:

All three team captains
Jessica Campbell, Hayley Wickenheiser, Scott Niedermayer

All three golden goal scorers
Campbell, Sidney Crosby, Marie-Philip Poulin

All three gold medal game goaltenders
Roberto Luongo, Carmen MacDonald, Shannon Szabados

All five tournament directorate award winners
Meghan Agosta (MVP, Top Forward), Campbell (MVP), Brigette Lacquette (Top Defenceman),
Shannon Szabados (Top Goaltender), Jonathan Toews (Top Forward)

The 61 players will be joined at the celebrations by members of all three team staffs including head coaches Mike Babcock, Melody Davidson and Dan Church, along with Men’s Olympic Team general manager Steve Yzerman. 

Tickets for Canada Celebrates, the public event on June 28 at Commonwealth Stadium are available for only $10 each (plus applicable fees and taxes), based on open seating at the venue, by going to, by calling 780-451-8000 and at all Ticketmaster outlets. This special event will not only celebrate Canada’s three Olympic and world champion teams from the past season, but will also pay tribute to the members of Canada’s military and their families.

Doors open Monday, June 28 at 4 p.m. at Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton.  Entertainment begins at 4:30 p.m., with the show scheduled to start at 5:30 p.m., featuring interviews with players and staff, as well as performances by the Mike Plume Band, The Mudmen and George Canyon. 

For event sponsorship & gala table sales, please contact


2010 Men’s Olympic Team 2010 Women’s Olympic Team 2010 Women’s Under-18 Team
Patrice Bergeron Meghan Agosta Erin Ambrose
Dan Boyle Gillian Apps Hannah Armstrong
Sidney Crosby Tessa Bonhomme Christine Bestland
Drew Doughty Jennifer Botterill Jessica Campbell
Marc-André Fleury Jayna Hefford Hayleigh Cudmore
Ryan Getzlaf Haley Irwin Mélanie Daoust
Dany Heatley Rebecca Johnston Sarah Davis
Jarome Iginla Becky Kellar Shannon Doyle
Duncan Keith Gina Kingsbury Emily Fulton 
Roberto Luongo Charline Labonté Erica Howe
Patrick Marleau Carla MacLeod Laurie Kingsbury
Brenden Morrow Meaghan Mikkelson Brigette Lacquette
Rick Nash Caroline Ouellette Caitin MacDonald
Scott Niedermayer Cherie Piper Carmen MacDonald
Corey Perry Marie-Philip Poulin Jenna McParland
Michael Richards Kim St-Pierre Carly Mercer
Brent Seabrook Colleen Sostorics Cassandra Poudrier
Eric Staal Shannon Szabados Jamie Lee Rattray
Joe Thornton Sarah Vaillancourt Jillian Saulnier
Jonathan Toews Hayley Wickenheiser Kelly Terry
Shea Weber

All proceeds from Canada Celebrates will go to the Hockey Canada Foundation, which supports minor hockey programs across the country, and to the Canadian Heroes Fund (, a charity that provides academic scholarships to spouses and children of soldiers killed in combat.

For more information on the Hockey Canada Foundation Celebrity Classic gala, including the Canada Celebrates event on June 28, please visit
View More